The Ugly Tree

No amount of red ribbons can disguise the awful truth.

ugly tree fix

It’s hideous.

We’re talking about Christmas decorations this week – hits and misses. It’s obvious what category this “tree” falls into.

The Charlie Brown appeal of it clouded my judgment when I found it free on the sidewalk this summer, piled with a bunch of other items left over from a garage sale. The $15 tag suggested at one time someone thought it had value. I lugged it home two blocks on a July evening, stored it in the garage all fall and pulled it out this weekend.

In the cold light of day, a crooked piece of birch limb with artificial branches screwed on, a string of pine cone lights and an odd gap in the center lacked true Christmas spirit.

Since I’ve harbored it this long, I decided to dress it up as best I could. Once Christmas is over, I guess I’ll drag it to the curb and see if someone else will fall for it like I did.

Do you have any decorations that you can’t part with – even though you should?

Susie Pink~ Susan

Tags: , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

9 responses to “The Ugly Tree”

  1. Deborah S Vogts says :

    Ha! How funny. Good for you, for loving this little decoration. :)

  2. Julane Hiebert says :

    OH, don’t discard it. I’l take it. It goes with my decor, and I would treasure it because it was from you!! d:)

    • Susan Mires says :

      I can strap it on top the color and tootle off to see you and your pretty lights! It does have… character.

  3. Lora Young says :

    One year, when I was a burned-out wife, mother, and home school teacher, I put off putting up a Christmas tree until a few days before Christmas. My children badgered me relentlessly. I’d stopped in at the mall to do a bit of last minute Christmas shopping and found *it*. A three-foot helium balloon Christmas tree–$8. I bought it, took it home and said, “There. There’s your stupid Christmas tree.” (Did I mention I was feeling pretty “Bah. Humbug,” at the time?) My kids hated it…until all their friends decided I was the coolest mom ever. :)

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Oh, Susie…this gave me my Monday laugh! How cute :D

  5. Donna Geesey says :

    I like your tree, Susie! I still need to get my tree up. We are making process however. The box is sitting in my family room instead of in the basement!

    Merry Christmas everyone!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

