Pomanders…A Hit or A Miss?

I love history, especially the Regency and Victorian eras. The architecture, fashion and culture hold a certain charm for me. As a young girl, I was enamoured with books like Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, and Five Little Peppers. So I was thrilled when our class took a field trip to a local Victorian home.

I’ll always remember going into a room off the kitchen where herbs and flowers were drying upside-down on a rack hanging from the ceiling. The tour guide then passed around sachets filled with dried lavender and rose petals. She also showed us another item called a pomander. I remember thinking how pretty it was and how wonderfully the scent reminded me of Christmas.

Orange Pomanders (photo credit: seekingtreasure.com)

Orange Pomanders
(photo credit: seekingtreasure.com)

Pomanders date back to the 15th century and were used as air fresheners in closets or drawers. In the Victorian times they were embellished with pretty ribbon and used for decorations on trees or elsewhere around the home. They can also be made with limes, lemons or apples.

One Christmas, I decided that I would get crafty and try my hand at making these. I thought they turned out well and packaged them up for my children’s teachers with a little note about what was in the gift bag.

Well, when I arrived at Nathan’s pre-school, the teacher opened up her gift in front of me. I’ll never forget the look on her face as she pulled out the dried fruit hanging from red ribbon.

“Oh, thank you!” And then she frowned and turned the piece around to look at it from all sides. “What is this thing?”

I quickly explained it and she still looked perplexed. Suddenly, the wonderful idea didn’t seem so great after all. Perhaps, I was reading her wrong…maybe she was just wondering which of her closets needed it the most.

Cherie Gagnon- Cherie

What do you think…Is the Pomander a Christmas hit or miss? (Vote Below)

If you think Pomanders would be a hit in your home, here are two sites with the instructions on how to make your own!
treasureseeking.com/2012/12/09/orange-pomanders/ (picture shown above)
www.organic.org/articles/showarticle/article-161

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Pomanders…A Hit or A Miss?”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    I made some a number of years ago and we loved them. They were so pretty and smelled so good. I hung them from the light above the table in the dining room. Always smelled liked I was in the process of baking something!

  2. Julane Hiebert says :

    I love them, Cherie. One year, though, I thought it would be a good project for my 7th and 8th grade Sunday School girls. We made them, and I stuck each one in a plastic baggie until we were ready to ‘give them to special people’, like two Sundays from then. Well…when I got ready to hand them out they were all covered with green fuzzy mold. Lesson #1—allow them to dry!!

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      Oh, Julane! That’s a funny story, but probably didn’t seem too funny at the time. Yes, they must dry ;)

  3. Susan Mires says :

    I’ve never made them – I wish I could smell them because it sounds heavenly.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

