Christmas Dipping

Making Christmas cookies and treats is just about my favorite thing of the season.

I’m baking things for my family and the office Christmas party on Tuesday. Saturday, I also had the chance to bake cookies for Jesus. Several years ago, some ladies in our church started a ministry to give plates of cookies to prisoners at the county jail. Many of the prisoners have written thank you notes. For these men and women who are at the lowest point in their life, to know someone thought of them  and cared enough to make homemade cookies really meant a lot.

This year, I felt compelled to share with them. Nothing fancy, just brownies and dipped pretzels (a personal favorite). And as I cooked, I prayed for the prisoners, that they would not just have a treat, but know Christ, who came to set the captives free.

almond barkWhen I opened the almond bark (What a strange name! I checked the ingredients, there is no almond or no bark in it.) I was delighted to discover that great innovations had been made in packaging. Instead of one solid brick that requires a hammer to break, it was packaged in a tray in neat little chunks, making it easy to select just what you need.

Almond bark is Christmas tradition. What is your favorite thing to dip in it?

Happy baking and dipping!

~ Susan

Tags: , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

5 responses to “Christmas Dipping”

  1. Julane Hiebert says :

    My mom always made dipped pretzels at Christmas time…actually, she started baking at Thanksgiving and from then on if you happened to go to her kitchen she would have cookies….date swirls and dipped pretzels for sure, and often Ritz crackers with peanut butter between them and then dipped in chocolate! Brings back memories.

    • Susan Mires says :

      I love those Ritz crackers! My sister-in-law makes those. Your mom must have loved Christmas baking even more than I do if she started that early.

  2. Jeanie Berg says :

    Sounds delicious! Tomorrow is my day to dip peanut butter balls–our family’s favorite!

    • Susan Mires says :

      Jeanie, I need a peanut butter ball recipe. I’ve never made them – but always try to snatch a few off the goodie tray!

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I read this yesterday…what a good idea to bring them to the jail.

    As far as dipping goes…I’ll dip anything in chocolate! Yum!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

