Eat Ice Cream for Supper

Our theme this week is fireside reading. I have hundreds of fiction books on my shelves and not one of them came to mind as the book I wanted to share today. I’ve spent the past three snow days in front of the fire trying to write, not read. As Friday drew closer, I knew I needed to find a book to share.

Then I remembered Eat Ice Cream for Supper. It’s written by our own Kathy Gronau! Even if I didn’t know Kathy as a dear friend, I would have to tell you that this is a book we should all have. It’s an easy read and it’s also a hard read. There’s a little romance and too much tragedy. There’s the sad reality of death and the huge promise of life. Through it all, Kathy’s voice and honesty speak from the pages of this book.

Eat Ice Cream for Supper is the story of Kathy and her husband, Orin, as they each battled the cancer monster. Between the covers of this book, you’ll find real and practical advice on everything from what you’ll feel and need to do when you get that life-changing diagnosis to dealing with the grief of death. Kathy’s knowledge as an RN and her respect for the medical field gently guide the reader through the foreign territory that comes with diagnosis.

At the end of each chapter, there are suggestions for the friend of someone with a terminal disease, making this book one we all should read. Helpful advice that we all can learn from in order to best support and help someone who is in a battle for their life.

When I first met Kathy, I could tell she spoke very honestly. She wasn’t one to tell you what you’d like to hear and this made me nervous. Then I got to know her and her honest way of speaking is what I appreciate the most. As I read this book, her voice wrapped around me. If someone close to me was sick, I’d want her to hold my hand through the journey.

While it is impossible for her to do that with each of us, the wisdom, encouragement, and hope Kathy writes about can be a wonderful source of help. Not once did I get lost in the medical jargon or the technical terms. Rather, she weaves the facts with sweet memories. Kathy offers advice on putting a medical team together and dealing with the never-ending paperwork.

At this moment, I don’t have an immediate family member who is dealing with cancer, but we all know how quickly that can change. Unfortunately, I do know too many families who are dealing with this reality or some other terrible sickness. Eat Ice Cream for Supper is a book for anyone to read.

Thank you, dear Kathy, for sharing yourself and your story with us.

Sara

5 responses to “Eat Ice Cream for Supper”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    What an excellent review Sara. Thank you for sharing this :)

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    And congratulations Kathy!

  3. Susan Mires says :

    Congratulations, Kathy! I’d like to get a copy of your book.

  4. pagesfromstages says :

    Thank you Sara for such a wonderfully done review. I wish that I could take credit for the book, however it is God’s inspiration not mine. My prayer has been that he will use me, and whatever he allows me to do through Him to help others and glorify Him. Eat Ice Cream for Supper has been a journey in trust as I followed open doors. A very early door has been the one that allowed me to meet each of you, what a blessing that has been in my life and in my writing career. I love each of you.

  5. julane Hiebert says :

    It is a book, like Sara said, that should be a mandatory read. I have read parts of it, and then cried and re-journeyed, then read some more. Kathy, you’ve done an excellent job of sharing yourself. Sara and I miss, more than we can express, our late night read-arounds and Opie’s pizza!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

