Sleepover: A Misnomer

nightRecently we hosted a Cousin’s Sleepover at our house. My husband and I love having the cousins over as much as our kids do. Popcorn and a new movie at night: my husband’s famous pancake breakfast in the morning. And in between….lots of giggles and not a whole lot of sleep.

Before the cousins arrive, I remind my kids, “Don’t forget the sleep in the sleepover.” When they and their cousins get a little older, I’m certain they will make fun of me for saying that. It will become, “Remember what Aunt Cherie used to say”, followed by a burst of laughter.

But I don’t mind. It’s all in fun.

When I was a young girl, I loved sleepovers at the home of my cousins or grandparents. I long for my own bed now, but staying overnight somewhere else was fun as a kid. The late nights, whispering in the dark and starting the next day together. It was a time of bonding. We did harmless things that we still laugh about today.

No, not a lot of sleep happens at a sleepover. But what does happen is the creation of childhood memories.

Cherie Gagnon- Cherie

Do you have any fun sleepover memories?

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Sleepover: A Misnomer”

  1. Susan Mires says :

    For awhile when I was very young, I shared a room with my two older sisters. I learned a lot just spending that time with them.

  2. Jeanie Berg says :

    I shared a room with my two older sisters too, but what I remember about that is that those two did the whispering and left me, the baby, out!! LOL It wasn’t always that way though. I do remember slumber parties with my friends and how much fun they were. We struggled to stay awake……….always lost though! My cousins lived too far away. Don’t recall ever having a slumber party with them.

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      I shared a room with the baby and she was the one keeping me up! She was a night owl and I was the early bird. It made it interesting sometimes, but we managed and have a some funny stories from those years.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

