The Sweetest Three Words

Last week Mark and the younger two boys went to church camp for the week, leaving Caleb and I at home together. I’ll be honest and admit I was a bit unsure how the week would go with just the two of us. I knew we even had to go school shopping during the week. School shopping with my 17-year-old son can be a close contest to a root canal. In the past the experience hasn’t been full of fun, kind words, and agreements. We went on Tuesday, just to get it over with early in the week and you know what? We had the best time! We found what he need and got a few things he wanted. We laughed and we talked. It was a great afternoon and the beginning to a great week.

My son has grown up. He’ll start his senior year in less than two weeks. There have been long moments where I’ve questioned my ability to parent. I’ve laid in bed at night and cried and prayed and cried some more. I’ve felt like a failure and wondered how badly I’ve ruined his life.

But this summer, I’ve seen a different young man and he’s turning out pretty good! I’m excited about who he’s becoming and what the future holds for him.

So those three sweetest words? Not what you think!

At the end of the week I told him something he’d done that he didn’t think I’d know about. It wasn’t anything big–something he ate. He tried to deny it then turned with a smile and said, “You know everything.” SWEET words to this mom’s ears and heart! Yes! We’ve come a long way from me not knowing anything. Sweet words. They’ve made me smile all week-long.

If you’re past these years, I bet you can identify. If you’re in the middle of the not-so-good years, know it’s going to get better. May every mom, at some point hear the sweetest words, “You know everything.”

Because you do know everything, right? I won’t tell anyone differently!!

Sara

9 responses to “The Sweetest Three Words”

  1. Deborah S Vogts says :

    Love this, Sarah. Our youngest will be a senior this year and we’re trying to enjoy all the moments . . .

  2. sara meisinger says :

    Looking back, it has gone way too fast! If you figure out a way to slow it down, let me know!!

  3. julane hiebert says :

    And it even will get better–like “I knew you were right all along, I just needed to find it out for myself!!” You have charming young men in your household!!

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I’ve got three words….”Great blog post.” :)

  5. Jeanie Berg says :

    Even better–someday the words will turn in to “If I can be half as good a parent as you were, thanks, Mom and Dad” Oh, what sweet words to treasure.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

