The power of a volunteer

Gardening is good for the soul. This year, it has been both challenging and rewarding – but isn’t it every year? We’ve had a lot of rain, producing abundant crops. And weeds.

From one little seed.

From one little seed.

The thing I have learned this year is what volunteer plants can do. While mowing early this summer, I found a little plant growing in the yard near the back step. Since it seemed like a scrappy little thing – and I figured it must be watermelon – I couldn’t bring myself to mow it off, so I cut all around it and let the little plant grow.

And grow it did!

It turned out to be a cantaloupe. This is a single plant that grew from one little seed that fell in the grass last fall. At last count, there were 10 cantaloupe growing on it. I’ve already harvested one and it was delicious.

Patty pan squach

White patty pan squash. They taste great grilled or fixed in the microwave with a little butter.

Something unusual also sprouted from the compost pile. It turned out to be patty pan squash. I got some from the University Extension garden last fall. It’s a yummy little squash that is also adorable.

Never again will I doubt the value of a volunteer!
Susie Pink

Have you ever had a “volunteer” turn into something good?

~ Susan

Tags: , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

4 responses to “The power of a volunteer”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    That’s amazing! You are quite the gardener. I guess that is also a lesson in ‘blooming where you are planted’.

    • Susan Mires says :

      This year is proof that my gardening skills don’t have much to do with it – since these things grew on their own!

  2. Jeanie Berg says :

    Guess I need to learn to “spit my seeds” over the deck railing—maybe something yummy will grow! Now if I could just get Hubby to stop mowing there!!

  3. sara meisinger says :

    What a great metaphor! I can’t think of any ‘volunteering’ that turns out bad. Usually sweet and it multiplies and becomes a huge blessing! Thanks for the reminder!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

