Let Thy Clutter Go!

Last year I decided that it was time to de-clutter. I tried out a few organizing ideas that I found online or suggested by friends. In general, I’m doing a lot better. But honestly, I still have a ways to go.

Ten years ago we moved into a ranch style house because our oldest son uses a wheelchair for mobility. The previous owners built the house so that all the living space is on the main floor. This is perfect for our family. The owners also built a basement the same size as the upstairs. We love our spacious unfinished basement, but it also poses problems. With that much open space, you can imagine what happens when you are living a busy life.

“What should we do with this?”

“Stick it in the basement.”

“What about this pile of old board meeting notes?”

“The basement.”

“Who do you think needs these old toys/clothes from the boys?”

“Not sure right now, put it in the basement.”

Yes, the basement has become this incredible catch-all. I’ve seen those reality shows about hoarders, and my basement looks like it was arranged by Martha Stewart in comparison. In fact, after watching one of these shows I feel much, much better about my mess. Yet, it is still a mess and it should be cleaned.

I was able to get a jump start on this goal when a friend agreed to take some of my stuff to her garage sale. I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare but managed to grab enough things to fill the backseat of her compact car. Surprisingly, it brought in $50.50. It’s not so much the money but the satisfaction of knowing these items aren’t collecting dust in the basement anymore and has become someone else’s treasure.

Continuing with the clean up, on the weekend I noticed an ad in our community paper. A group is collecting gently used book for the Terry Fox Foundation which supports cancer research. Great! I have a week to collect up books.

Discussing de-cluttering with one of my friends, she remarked  how we work to collect all this stuff and yet, when we get rid of it, we feel so much better.

It is inevitable over time that children will outgrow clothes. Toys that once provided hours of creative play are no longer age-appropriate. Even as adults, we can outgrow our clothes, too. It’s just taking the time to thoughtfully move our belongings on.

I’m not sure what my next step is except to make sure I bring in less!

Cherie Gagnon- Cherie 

 

What are some of your best de-cluttering tips?

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Let Thy Clutter Go!”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    So much talk about de-cluttering——–and yet no one comes to do mine! I wonder why that is!!

  2. Susan Mires says :

    I’ve found I can let something go easier if I think someone else will be using it. I love those “drive by” bins at the DAV (Disabled American Veterans) thrift store!

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      We have Goodwill bins. They are a good idea. I think sometimes I hang onto things because of the memories.

  3. sara meisinger says :

    I think the best suggestion I’ve ever read is, get the clutter out of your house by donating it. Don’t think you’ll have a garage sale at some point, don’t think you’ll find someone to give it too. Just take it to Goodwill or someplace so it’s removed from your house. Otherwise your good intentions might just keep stacking up! It feels wonderful to drop it off (when I remember to take it to town with me!). Thanks Cherie!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

