Sunny with a Chance of Thunder

sun and thunderWhat if your mood could be forecasted, just like the weather?

Imagine if your spouse, friends or co-workers could search your name on a website called “The Mood Network”.  Would they see “sunny with comfortable temperatures”? What about “chilly with a frost in the morning”? Would they dive and take cover if the forecast was “variable today – sunny in the morning, showers in the afternoon with heavy snowfall throughout the evening”?

I was reflecting the other day about the many people who’ve come alongside us and supported our two kids with special needs. Over the past eleven years, we’ve met many nurses, doctors, therapists, educators, aides and support persons. I’ve noted that some people have left a chilly breeze in their wake, while others have brightened even our toughest days.

Same would hold true in any form of community – church, work, and family gatherings. There are some people who just make the world a better place by showing up, like a rainbow after a storm. While dark, heavy clouds follow others around, making it unpleasant for everyone. Just like any weather system has an impact on the environment, so our mood on the people around us.
It really got me thinking about making a conscious effort to make sure that I’m bringing a good attitude and pleasant disposition to every situation. True, there are days when I will be tired, maybe even heartbroken, and it will be a challenge. During those times I’ll need friends and family who will cry with me. But there will be many more days that I can make an effort to be the one who has something nice to say, a compliment to offer and provide words of encouragement.

Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.” Proverbs 16:24

Cherie Gagnon

Blessings,

Cherie

 

 

 What about you? If your mood was forecasted, what would it be?

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Sunny with a Chance of Thunder”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    This is a great idea – Before I leave for work I could check the forecast to see if I need a jacket, and who to avoid!

  2. pagesfromstages says :

    I always dislike the comment, “If momma isn’t happy. . .” , but that is so true! Working hard to make sure my attitude isn’t humid and heading for a bad storm!!

