This and That

This year has been a whole new experience for our family. For nine years I homeschooled our three boys but last spring the opportunity came for us to send the oldest two to the Christian school I graduated from. It has been a blessing and a great experience, but this mom is not used to the busy end-of-the-year activities! Soccer games, field trips, field days, music programs and final projects. Perhaps it’s the last few weeks of school that ensure we enjoy our summer!

Today is our youngest son’s birthday. He has anticipated this day since, well, May 5, 2011! He has been planning what he’s going to build out of LEGO’s for a cake topper and we’ve spent hours in the store aisle looking at the LEGO boxes. On a whim, I thought I’d see where the closest LEGO store is and found out there is a special LEGO exhibit that just opened last weekend in Kansas City. I know we’re crazy to think about going this close to opening and on a weekend, but he’ll love it!

Do you do Pinterest? I resisted for a long time until someone explained how you could use it to create storyboards for whatever story you’re writing. I liked that idea so with fear I signed up. It’s exactly like I thought–a great place to spend way too much time! But the ideas you can find there are amazing! One idea I’ve tried is the Little Bit of Sunshine box.

All you do is cover a box with yellow paper and fill it with yellow items. In mine I put kitchen wash clothes and hand towels, yellow/orange jelly beans, yellow Sixlets, a yellow package of peanut butter cups and silk daffodils. I added a note and sent it to a cousin who is going through some tough things. It brightened her day and let her know I’m thinking of her and praying.

I think I’ll start watching for yellow items and keep a box ready to send. It’s a simple way to brighten someone’s day and let them know you care.

What would you put in a box of sunshine? I’d love to hear some ideas!

Sara

4 responses to “This and That”

  1. Ingrid says :

    What a great Idea the Yellow Box is, have to remember that. 🙂

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I like that sunshine box! Just a note that someone was thinking of me would brighten my day!

  3. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    Happy Birthday to your son! His party sounds like a lot of fun.

  4. Susan Hollaway says :

    Love the sunshine box idea, Sara! Very nice.

