Smackin’ Good Summer Salad — Broccoli Slaw!

With the Independence Day coming up soon, I thought I’d share a recipe for a summer salad that my family enjoys.  Some people call this Broccoli-Ramen Slaw or a variation of that.  We’ve just always called it Broccoli Slaw. There’s a ton of adaptations to this particular salad on the web, so you could have fun with it.  Here’s the basic recipe I was given years ago.

Broccoli Slaw

Salad ingredients:

1 package broccoli slaw mix

2  3-oz. packages instant Ramen noodles (Set the flavor packets aside to use with dressing. You can use any flavor you like or you can discard the flavor packet(s) and save yourself a sodium infusion.  Since we don’t make it often, I’ve always used the packet.  I think this would be delish even without it though.)

4 scallions or green onions, sliced thin (I leave these out as hubs isn’t a raw onion fan.)

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup slivered or sliced almonds, toasted (optional, but adds a nice crunch)

Dressing:

1/4 cup sugar (If you like it sweeter, you can use ½ cup, but I try to cut back on the sugar. )

1/3 apple cider vinegar  

1/2 cup olive oil

The flavor packet(s) from the Ramen noodles.

Mix the salad ingredients except for the sunflower seeds and almonds. Do not cook the noodles!  Break them up and add to the salad ingredients.   Whisk the dressing ingredients together and drizzle the dressing over the slaw ingredients and toss well.  Refrigerate.   This is best is refrigerated for awhile – at least 2 hours.  Add sunflower seeds and almonds just before serving. You can add the sunflower seeds and almonds when you initially make it, but they’re crunchier if you add them just before serving.

Honestly, I’m not a big fan of the Ramen noodles.  They’re not the healthiest choice a person could make, by any means.  But they do make a good addition to this salad.  I’m trying to think of something else I could use in place of them, but haven’t come up with a good alternative yet.  I’m totally open to anyone’s ideas, so please share.

Lastly, I only make this for family gatherings and I always double the recipe as there’s usually a crowd.  But I still only use 2 packages of the Ramen noodles for a double recipe.  It’s totally up to you and your personal tastes.

I hope you enjoy this salad.  It’s become an extended family favorite and I’m often asked to bring it to get togethers.

Happy Picnicking!

Susan Hollaway

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Smackin’ Good Summer Salad — Broccoli Slaw!”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I love this salad! It’s like going back to college days and eating ramen noodles.

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    This looks like a fun and easy to make salad! It’s nice to switch it up for a change once in a while. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Susan Hollaway says :

    Hi, Susie! Hi, Cherie! Thanks. It’s tasty morsels all right. I’ll probably be taking it or my pasta salad to our Independence Celebration next month.

