Seriously? Pick only one?

So far, writing about my favorite author is one of the hardest blog posts I’ve ever had to write.   You’ve got to be kidding!  I can’t pick only one.  Sigh.

First and foremost, I have to say God.  He inspired the Bible , and after all, the Good Book is what  we’re to live by, right?  Okay, so that’s a given for us Christians.  And for the purpose of the “theme” this week, that’s technically cheating to go for the obvious.

I am honestly hard-pressed to pick “a” favorite fiction author.  There are so many great authors and books out there.  It depends on what kind of mood I’m in as to who might be pegged as my favorite author for any given time.   Am I avoiding picking one?  You betcha’.   But true, nonetheless.

I love fiction— especially romance. And I’ve met a  few people throughout my life who have poo-poo’ed the kinds of books I enjoy reading, saying they don’t have the “literary value” of the classics.  Puhleez!  I’m not downplaying the classics.  Some of them are very good.  Great even.  A few, however,  are dryer than a cracker barrel.  Just sayin’.

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with reading a great book just for the sheer enjoyment of it.  If I had to pick giving up the television or books, the television would definitely have to go.  A really good book gets you so wrapped up in the story that you don’t want to put it down.  And at the end when you devour the last page, sigh, and close it’s cover (or hit the off button if you’re on an e-reader of some sort), you can’t stop thinking about it.  And often times, you realize it wasn’t just an awesome story, but you gleaned a wonderful message or lesson from it.  One that generally most anyone can apply to their lives.  A great book definitely leaves you pondering and thinking afterwards.  And wanting more from that author.  Jesus taught through parables, you know.  There no reason His followers can’t use His example and do the same thing in their novels.

So, whether you love contemporary romance, historical romance, historical fiction, speculative, whatever—there’s a lot of great authors to choose from today.   While I like different genres , I’m going to focus on two of my favorite authors. (I know, I know, it’s supposed to be one. Humor me. )

Judith Miller writes fabulous historical fiction.  Her impeccable research pays off with details and description that has you suddenly in a time or place that you may have known nothing about previously, but are suddenly living alongside her characters and you are part of the story.  I’ve not read one of her books that I haven’t thoroughly enjoyed. Hurry, you’d better get started right away.  The hard part will be deciding which one to read first.  www.judithmccoymiller.com

If you like humor and historical romance, you’ve got to check out Lorna Seilstad.  I’ve read two of her books so far and am getting ready to read her third.  I’ve felt as if I’ve been to Lake Manawa Resort in Iowa and I never even knew it existed before I picked up her books.  The resort she uses as her setting is gone today, but it comes alive in the tales she’s woven around the unique and popular historical vacation spot of its time.   Her books will give you wonderful chuckles and some laugh out loud moments as well.  www.lornaseilstad.com

So there you have it.  Two of my faves in the historical genre.  Have you read any of Judith or Lorna’s books?

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Seriously? Pick only one?”

  1. Amanda Murphy says :

    I love Judith’s books, and I’m not sure if I’ve read any of Lorna’s books. Like you, I have a really hard time picking “a” (or even 2) favorite author. 🙂

  2. Judith Miller says :

    Thanks for your kind words, Susie. I’m honored to have you list me as one of your favorite authors. Like you, I love Lorna’s books, too. The humor in her writing gives me such a lift. Blessings, Judy

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      Thanks for stopping by, Judy. It never fails that dd, Emily, always tries to grab your or Lorna’s books first when they enter the house. I’m convinced it’s why she likes to check the mail.

  3. Sara Meisinger says :

    I agree, Susie. It’s tough to pick just one favorite author! I’m still trying to decide how I’m going to figure this one out! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Margaret says :

    Someone asked this on Goodreads recently and I think I rattled of twelve from the top of my head (and then rearranged them in ABC order so it wouldn’t look like I liked the bottom one less than the others). I have a terrible time with these kinds of questions.

  5. Lorna Seilstad says :

    Susie, I’m honored to have made your historical list! Thank you. Like you, I love Judy’s books. I’ve learned so much from her. And pick only one? That is impossible for those of us who love books. I don’t think I can even pick a favorite scene or cover let alone author.

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      Thanks for stopping by, Lorna! I know. Judy is awesome, isn’t she? But so are you. I wasn’t kidding when I said that my daughter always wants dibs on your and Judy’s books. It starts with a “Can I see it?” Then rapidly progresses to, “I should get to read it first, because I’ve already started reading it.” LOL I’m so proud that she’s a book lover. Albeit, a sneaky book lover. LOL

  6. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I’ve read many of Judy’s books, too. Many of those which she co-wrote with Tracie Peterson. Always a delight!

