Scrumptious Sugar Cookies!

I’d like to share a recipe for the best sugar cookies in the whole world!  Well, okay, that’s my humble opinion.  They’re a softer, thicker sugar cookie. I grew up eating these tasty morsels whenever my family’s special friend, Pearl, made them.  Pearl was like a grandma to me, although there was no biological connection between us. She was a fabulous cook and I loved being in the kitchen with her.  Well, anywhere with her actually.  She was so much fun!
If you want a delicious sugar cookie that literally melts in your mouth, Pearl’s recipe will not disappoint you.
These cookies make a great accompaniment to a picnic.  This light tasting cookie would go great with a dish of homemade ice cream for Independence Day!   If you want to really get into the spirit, use food coloring to tint the glaze and throw on some sprinkles to go along with the red, white, and blue of 4th of July!
Pearl’s Sugar Cookies
3 C. flour                                                1 C.. shortening
2 t. baking powder                                 2 eggs
1 scant t. baking soda                             1 C. sugar
1/2 t. salt                                                4 T. milk
1 t. vanilla or lemon extract (1 t. vanilla & 1/2 t. lemon)
Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Cut in shortening just as for pie crust.  Beat eggs and add sugar, milk and extracts.  Combine with mixture of dry ingredients and shortening and blend well.  Make dough into ball and chill in the refrigerator.  Roll thin and cut cookies.  Bake until lightly browned in a moderate oven (350 degrees).  Cookies may be sprinkled with sugar before baking, but I prefer to ice them with an icing made of powdered sugar and orange juice.  Just take powdered sugar and add enough orange juice to make a thick glaze.
Health note:  I know these cookies call for shortening, not so healthy.  But it’s a special treat and I’ve never tried subbing something else for the shortening.
Enjoy and an early Happy 4th of July!
Susan Hollaway
Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Scrumptious Sugar Cookies!”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I’ve never made cookies like a pie crust like this, but it sounds wonderful. It will be a day or before I fire up my oven.

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    My youngest loves sugar cookies. On the list to make 🙂

  3. Sara Meisinger says :

    I can’t wait to try this. I love thick, soft sugar cookies. My recipe is good, but they aren’t thick. Thanks for sharing, Susie!

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      Sure, Sara. The icing with orange juice is sooooo good too! A sugar cookie just isn’t a sugar cookie to me unless it’s Pearl’s recipe. I guess she spoiled me. =)

