Favorite Character from Favorite Book

In 2003, I picked up a book titled The Still of Night by author Kristen Heitzmann. I had read her previous historical series and knew this book would be good even though it was contemporary. Good, is an understatement! Since that first read, I’ve read it at least twice a year, if not more. I love this book and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a new book. To date, the only negative comment I’ve gotten back is that the story ended! No one wants to get to the last page.

As I started my own writing journey, I knew I wanted to create characters like Morgan Spencer. Morgan has everything: looks, success, wealth. But his personal life crashed around him his senior year of high school and while he can fix everyone elses problems, his continue to destroy him. Morgan isn’t your perfect person and his flaws are big. Ms. Heitzmann did an amazing job of making Morgan real and deep.

Even after reading this book many times, I still feel every emotion in this story. If my own character is resembling a piece of cardboard, I grab this book and read it again. To create a character that sticks in the reader’s mind for years is an amazing talent and gift. The entire story will capture your imagination and heart.

Last September, I got to take a writing class taught by Kristen Heitzmann. During the session she read the opening paragraph from the book she was just finishing. The Breath of Dawn will be a sequel to The Still of Night. It will be in stores in November. My calendar is marked so I can get my paper copy and I will be pre-ordering it for my Kindle soon!

Are you looking for a great summer reading book? Read this one. The Still of Night will capture your imagination and your heart. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. If you’ve read it or after you do, let me know. I’m always wanting to talk about it with someone–even nine years after reading it for the first time. Now THAT’S a great book with great characters!

Enjoy your weekend,

Sara

  ** This book has been reprinted with a different cover.**

9 responses to “Favorite Character from Favorite Book”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    I wrote it down on my “Look in the library” list! If you wonderful writers recommend it I know it has to be good!

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      You will love it, Jeanie. If the library doesn’t have it ask for interlibrary loan because Hillsboro has a very well read copy! Please let me know when you finish and what you think!

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Not surprised you picked a character from this book 🙂 Maybe this one will make it into my shopping cart on my next order…

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      Eventually I’m just going to buy it for you! Probably in September if you don’t have it yet!!

      • Cherie Gagnon says :

        Seriously, it’s in my CBD shopping cart right now. I’m waiitng for Grant to decide if he’s order anything this time around. I’m really going to read this. It better be good 😉 lol!!

  3. Sara Meisinger says :

    If you don’t enjoy it, I’ll buy you lasagna in September! Let me know as soon as you start reading it. Even after reading it many times, I still stay up half the night to finish it–just incase something might have changed.

  4. Susan Hollaway says :

    Okay, Sara. You recently recommended this to me. I have a “to be read” stack, but I’m adding it to my list. I PROMISE I’ll read it.

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      Put in on the TOP of the pile. Better yet, just get it and read the first chapter or two. I have no doubt you’ll finish it quickly. Let me know what you think!

  5. Deborah Raney says :

    LOL! You recommended it to me to. Better get it on my list. And Kristen ought to hire you as her PR firm! : ) Great review! And so true that reading great characters helps to not write cardboard characters.

