Why I Hate Cell Phones

Cell phonesCell phones can be helpful devices, but overall I hate them. Yes, hate is a strong word. I don’t regret using it.

I am current enough to know benefits of having these fancy iPhones and the like—get directions, find phone numbers, take pictures, etc… And as parent, I’m partial to the comfort of being available should the school or other caregivers need to contact me. I own a very simple cell phone, hand out the number infrequently and mainly view it as a device for urgent or emergency situations.

I sometimes wonder, “How did we ever live without them?” and “Do we really need to be available every waking minute?” I long for a quieter time when someone left a message on your answering machine at home and, when you could, you returned the call. Blessed simplicity.

So here are my three reasons why I hate cell phones.

1. MISSING THE MOMENTS
This summer I really noticed how attached people are to their phones. I was sad to see parents take their kids to the park, only to sit on a bench with their faces planted in that little screen. These parents miss out on the wonder of the moment that will only last a few fleeting years to answer a text, check Facebook, or whatever else you can do with your cell phone.

2. DANGEROUS
Despite the laws where I live, I still see people driving while texting or talking. It’s proven that the likelihood of an accident increases while engaging in these activities. Is it worth risking an accident where you could seriously injure someone?

And worse, I’ve seen people talking on their phones while riding their bikes. I like to cycle and it is dangerous out on roads… motor vehicle drivers are not careful enough around cyclists (that’s a rant for another day). And to add to the risks by talking on the phone? Not this girl.

3. THE RUDENESS FACTOR
Call me old-fashion, but I cringe when people toy with their phone at the dinner table. Don’t kid yourself, when you try to talk and play with your phone, you sound like a record that skips and jumps (yes, I used a record analogy…I MUST be old-fashion). Mealtime aside, if you are visiting someone, put that thing away and be with the people you are with.

Cherie GagnonWhew…glad I got that off my chest.

Your thoughts: Does cell phone use get on your nerves?

Are you okay with how they are used?

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Why I Hate Cell Phones”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I confess to really, really liking my phone. (Not quite love!) But I hate how it can be a crutch to look like you’re busy and avoid talking to real people. Real conversation seems to be a dying art.

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      I know I’m in the minority, most people like their phones. True, real conversation is a dying art. My sister works with young adults and finds this to be a problem at times.

  2. Susan Hollaway says :

    I enjoyed your post, Cherie! I must confess, I too, really like my phone. BUT having said that, I think we should be with the people we’re with and not be rude about our cell phone usage.

  3. Jeanie Berg says :

    I have a very simple phone and I like (love) it because it gives me nearly instant access to my two daughters who would otherwise need a long distance (read expensive) call to be able to talk to them. My son lives here in town so that’s not a problem. My siblings live far far away and also need long distance calls. That said, I hate the way the grandchildren are either on their phones or have them nearby almost continually. In their defense they are not rude while here with their phones ever ready and will willingly put them down so we can play games, visit or whatever!! So it’s okay!! I carry my phone on my person nearly constantly….it’s my lifeline to safety…or for help. Several years ago I stepped out to pick up the newspaper and stepped down onto the first step which proved to be coated with ice and promptly fell (slid) down the remaining stairs to a thick patch of ice. I’d had knee surgery and really struggled to finally make it back up the stairs to the porch only to find that the front door had locked on me. It was snowing and nearly everyone in the neighborhood was gone to work. Silent!! I called for help and PRAYED. Suddenly a neighbor lady across the street and several doors down opened her front door to take something to her mail box! Answer to prayer! I called to her and she left her two young children in her house alone while she came to rescue me via our garage door alarm code pad…through the house and opened my front door for me! She was my angel! Ever since I carry my cell phone with me at all times in lieu of a “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up” necklace. I have one of those now too but seldom wear it.:(

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      I concede that they can be helpful, that’s why I have one. I guess the real issue is the user not the phone! Glad it helps you connect with your family – that’s a bonus indeed 🙂

  4. Lora Young says :

    I have my adult children to dinner every Sunday evening. A few weeks ago, my daughter-in-law suggested a basket at the door for everyone’s cell phones so we’d talk to each other. That being said, it’s quite a handy way to sole arguments at the dinner table. Ha!

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      That’s a great idea. Maybe I’ll put a basket by my front door. If anyone has seen High School Musical, I would be just like the drama teacher who collected them in a pail! Wow, I’m such a grouch! lol

  5. Cindy says :

    I must say that I not only do not care for, enjoy, feel comfort with, or get satisfaction from a phone – and I make my living in IT. Frankly I despise them – its not the electronics, its the dehumanization, and the insulation. I went for a walk yesterday – a beautiful day in the Pac Northwest – enjoying listening to the birds, feeling the tactile “niceness” of a pine tree, and I stopped to watch a honey bee hard at work (amazing!)….. my phone in my purse beneath my desk…. and then… coming up in back of me was a bunch of other people theoretically taking a nice walk…… blab blab blab – some guy talking about his new tires, a girl talking about last nights date….. heads burried, no awareness of surroundings…. another person texting away – I’m sure its very important… NOT! Don’t get me started about yapping and texting drivers!!! – bottom line, when my contract is up, the phone goes in my dresser drawer, to molder away until the battery dies. I plan on having a home phone once again, preferably telephone line powered – so if the power goes out, I can still tell someone I’m ok.

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      What great examples of how cell phones distract us from really connecting to nature and people around us.

      At home I keep an older phone that plugs right into the phone jack and doesn’t need to be plugged in to a power outlet to work. Whenever the power goes out, I plug this phone in. We really could survive without cells!

