Talking about Grades

Today is Parent Teacher conferences at school. I write this blog with a knot growing in my stomach! I dread Parent Teacher conferences. We homeschooled for ten years and I now remember one of the perks–I was the teacher so our Parent Teacher conferences weren’t too bad and very short!!

Please don’t get me wrong, I really don’t think there will be many concerns about the boys’ grades or social behavior. But, the thought of sitting across the table from a teacher and discussing grades scares me. It always has. When I was in school I dreaded those moments. In college I had to discuss a grade with my advisor–I still remember that conversation.

The boys have wonderful teachers and I enjoy talking with them in the hall, at games, after school. But put me across a table from them with a grade book in their hands and my nerves start growing. It’s crazy, isn’t it?

How about you? If you have PT conferences do they make you nervous? Did they when you had kids in school?

Maybe this is normal and all the parents waiting in the gym today will be feeling the same way!

I hope you enjoy your Friday. I’ll be glad when mine is over!

Sara

3 responses to “Talking about Grades”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    Hoping it goes well for you today. Did you get all your artwork finished?

  2. Sara Meisinger says :

    Today went fine. Good kids, but obviously one is a little LESS concerned about those ‘c’s’ than his teachers are!! Finished the artwork around three this morning and Mark helped me get them on the walls. They look wonderful! It was fun to see the finished projects. Hopefully all the parents take time to find their child’s work. I’m going to take my camera on Wednesday for a few pictures. Hope they ask me back next year to teach art!

