The Breath of Dawn – Book Review and Giveaway!

“Seeing Morgan standing still as stone beside the freshly opened earth, Noelle St. Claire Spencer believed a man could shatter. One touch and he might crumble and blow away. Ashes to ashes. Dust to dust.”

One year ago I sat in a class being taught by Kristen Heitzmann, the author of my all-time favorite book The Still of Night. She read these words from the new novel she was working on. Suddenly the names registered–Morgan? Noelle? A grave? My stomach dropped to my toes and my eyes filled with tears. I didn’t hear another word from that class. These were the characters from The Still of Night.

Afterwards I asked if I’d heard correctly–I had. How could Morgan’s wife die for the sake of a sequel? To be honest, I was very skeptical that she could create any story or characters I would like. For the past year I’ve waited for the release of this new book with hesitation and dread. Would I like the ‘new woman’? I doubted it. How would this author create a story that would make me want Morgan to move on with his life?

Last Friday I received an advanced copy of The Breath of Dawn from Bethany House. I started it right after lunch and finished at midnight. Ms. Heitzmann created a heroine that I liked immediately and somehow, after about chapter four, I began wanting Morgan to move on with his life. A story was woven together that allowed Morgan to grieve for all he’d lost while beginning to fall in love with this new woman and look towards the future.

Kristen Heitzmann is an amazing  and gifted storyteller. She weaves a flawless story that is filled with suspense, grief, hope and tender love. Her characters come alive and step off the pages to tell you their story.

The Breath of Dawn would be fine as a stand-alone book, but for the full experience, I highly recommend reading The Still of Night first.

To celebrate yesterday’s release of The Breath of Dawn, I am giving away a brand new copy of this amazing book! It’s been a long wait so celebrate with me!! Leave a comment and tell me your favorite Kristen Heitzmann book or share why you’d like this one. Be sure to leave your email address so I can contact you if you are the lucky winner!

Meeting Kristen Heitzmann at the 2011 ACFW Conference. What a thrill!

Go get these books or download them and enjoy your weekend!

Sara

11 responses to “The Breath of Dawn – Book Review and Giveaway!”

  1. Vera Isaac says :

    Hi, Sara – I would love to have a chance to get the book. (Say, do you by any chance remember a conversation we had in the grocery store some months ago?)

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      Hi Vera, I do!! Thanks for the reminder and thanks for reading this blog. Look on your porch today! Have you read any Kristen Heitzmann? The library has The Still of Night for sure and the one before, The Rush of Wings.

      • Vera Isaac says :

        No, I have never read any of her books. I will put them on my list. Thanks for the surprise on my porch. I wish I would have been to talk to you!

  2. larrywtimm says :

    Thanks, Sara. You’ve made me want to read this book. I’m always glad to add another writer to my “favorites” list.

  3. Vera Hall says :

    I had never read any booksby Heitzmann until I was loaned a copy of The Still of Night, about a month ago. Since then, I’ve read the Rocky Mountain Legacy series. I would love to have this new book as my next read.

  4. Susan Hollaway says :

    I promise, Sara, I WILL read The Still of Night. I’m so behind in reading.

  5. Heidi says :

    I’ve read her book Halos and liked it. I’m excited to dive into this series!

  6. Jeanie Berg says :

    I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever read a book of hers, but you made me very much want to read these books. If you loved it that much it’s a good recommendation….always a good thing! Would love to own it!

  7. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I can’t wait to read this one after your positive review! I was worried, too, if I’d like the other woman. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Ian says :

    Okay Sara, you’ve convinced me. I’ve ordered “The Still of the Night”…

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      I really hope you’ll like it. It is my favorite book and I think over the years “Breath of Dawn” will join it at the top. Can’t wait to hear what you think about it!

