Happy Veterans Day, Dad

In honoring veterans this week, I wanted to show you a picture of this handsome fellow.

This is my dad, Hugh Mires, in 1942. He was drafted into the United States Army and served until October 1945. He served in the Army Air Corps, the precursor to the Air Force, in China and India. He worked on and fueled airplanes that made bombing runs over Japan.

Dad is now 92 and still lives on the farm. He never really made a big deal about his military service and talked about it very little.

Last November, he was able to go on an Honor Flight to Washington, D.C. He had a wonderful time visiting the memorials. Below is a group photo at the Vietnam Memorial. I can’t say enough about this wonderful organization and how they made my dad feel like a true hero.

I think he enjoyed most of all being with other veterans. It must have reminded him of when he left home in 1942 and joined up with a bunch of other fellas he’d never met before to travel a long distance to serve their country.

Dad, second from the left in the wheelchair.

Happy Veterans Day, Dad.

Love, Susie

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Happy Veterans Day, Dad”

  1. Julane Hiebert says :

    I love the relationship you have with your daddy, Susie!! There is something very special between a daughter and her dad that defies explanation. And it’s a picture, at least to me, of your relationship with your heavenly Father. What an example! Thank you.

  2. Susan Hollaway says :

    Susie, what a wonderful post! Handsome is right! I agree with Julane that there is something very special between a daughter and her daddy. My dad was in the Air Force for awhile. My daddy seemed to understand me, and what he didn’t ….he loved anyway. I miss him.

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I love that picture! What a treasure to have. We had Remembrance Day on Sunday to remember those who faithfully served for freedom and democracy. I’m glad we have these days to reflect on the wonderful men and women who protect our country.

  4. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I’ll tell Dad you all think he is handsome. He’ll get a kick out of that.

