Best/Worst Christmas Songs

This week we are sharing our least favourite and our most favourite Christmas songs. So let’s get the bad news over with first…

Please don’t hate me Beatles fans… The number one song that does not get ‘all my loving’ is Having A Wonderful Christmastime by none other than Sir Paul McCartney. The lyrics, the ill-fitted choral pieces, and the musical score all work together to make a very strange piece.

Sadly, I must concede that I’m in the minority. If Wikipedia can be trusted, McCartney regrets writing this song (on that fact, ‘I’m a believer’), however, it allegedly earns him $400,000 a year with a cumulative total of $15 million. I’m sure those royalty cheques must make him feel ‘glad all over’.

Now for my favourite Christmas song of all time…O Holy Night. I played this piece every year at our church’s Christmas recital on the violin while my brother accompanied me on the piano. Though I enjoyed playing the violin, I secretly wished I were singing this song with the powerful vocals of Celine Dione. Chills run down my spine whenever I hear O Holy Night on the radio, regardless of who sings it.

Aside from the emotion-stirring melody, I find the message very moving. It is a celebration that our Savior shed the glory of heaven to come to Earth in the most humble of beginnings.  The goal was to bring us freedom, love and peace. The moment of His arrival was a holy night, indeed.

Although I appreciate many renditions of O Holy Night, I wanted to share this version by the Celtic Woman performed in Slane Castle, Ireland. This is what I imagine the angels sound like.

Cherie Gagnon

Hope you enoyed it!

– Cherie

What Christmas song do you look forward to the most each year?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Best/Worst Christmas Songs”

  1. Julane Hiebert says :

    Beautiful, Cherie. Thanks for posting.

  2. Grant Gagnon says :

    I completely agree with my wonderful wife. I Love Oh Holy Night. It is a great song. But the worse song is “Little Saint Nic” (pretty sure that is the title) by the Beach Boys. AWEFUL tune.

    Also like to rock out to Bruce’s “Merry Christmas Baby”

  3. Sara Meisinger says :

    Oh Holy Night has to be my favorite (what will I write about on Friday?) too. Your version of the least favorite had me smiling. You know your Beattles songs! Thanks for sharing.

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      I hope you write about O Holy Night if it’s your favorite. I’m sure you have memories associated with that song or there is a line that is particularly meaningful to you. (Great minds think alike…)

  4. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I cringe when I hear that Beatles song come on the radio!

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      Not only is it one of the worst Christmas songs, but has to be one of the worst songs recorded. If I could only write such a song…Grant & I could retire 🙂

  5. Jeanie Berg says :

    O Holy Night is an absolute favorite of mine too!! Isn’t it everyone’s fav?!! I love Christmas music….one of the newer ones that grabs my heart every time I hear it is Mark Lowrey’s Mary, Did You Know?

  6. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I like Mary, Did You Know. It really makes you think about the situation of a young girl given such an awesome responsibility and honour.

  7. Ian says :

    Great post and ensuing discussion, Cherie. Funny how we all like to chime in to a post about Favourite/Least Favourite… I love Christmas Carols, part of our family routine that I get plenty of pushback every year from my loved ones.

    I really love all the classics: Silent Night, Hark! the Herald Angels, Joy to the World, etc…

    Worst: Shakin’ Stevens did a song called ” Merry Christmas Everyone” which is a bit of a shocker.

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      The classics are always good. I’m not sure I know Merry Christmas Everyone…Not an Aussie tune, is it?

      • Ian says :

        Ha, Cherie. Shakin’ Stevens is a Welsh singer, I think. Did a bunch of poppy/rock songs many years ago (yes, showing my age!) like “Green Door”, This Ole House…

  8. Susan Hollaway says :

    Beautiful, Cherie. Thanks for sharing that video.

