Help solve this mystery

It was about one year ago, on a foggy November night, that the dog and I were taking our customary walk. He’s a beagle, so he travels with his nose to ground.

I turned to go down a street and felt a tug at the end of the line as the dog stayed put. I yanked again, but Tucker refused to move, burrowing his nose through leaves on a street corner. As I walked back toward the corner, the dog dislodged the item he’d sniffed out. Sticking up from the pile of leaves was… a HAND!

The dog refused to let go of his find. I inched under the yellow glow of the street light and discerned the hand was attached to an arm. Of a mannequin. At the top, was a bolt with instructions to “insert here.”

Clue One

Clue One: Fingerprints?

As you can see, the arm was covered with writing and sketches. I was able to make sense of some of it. (The rest was best left undeciphered.)

Then, almost exactly one year later, just two weeks ago, the dog and I were walking at the exact same corner and found THIS:

Clue Two

Clue Two: An ID

A photo of two children. Obviously, these are clues.

Further investigation led us to the park. On the sidewalk, the sleuth dog found these TRACKS:

Clue Three: Tracks

Clue Three: Tracks

While Tucker is on the hunt sniffing out more clues –

We need your help to solve this mystery.  What are these clues telling us?

Susie-3994-EditPS 72

On the case,

~ Susan Mires

11 responses to “Help solve this mystery”

  1. Sara Meisinger says :

    What are the clues telling you? Quit walking the dog! Just the arm would have scared me!!

  2. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    The arm did freak me out at first. Then the writer in me got intrigued….

  3. Jeanie Berg says :

    I’m leaving this one alone!!!! Mysteries are not my friends…..especially if there is a disconnected arm involved! lol

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Upon closer examination of the evidence (especially clue three)…I’d have to day the mystery might involve four-footed, masked bandits…Racoons???

  5. Susan Hollaway says :

    I’m with Sara. Find another walking route! That’s mostly in regards to the mannequin arm thingie. Eeeew!

  6. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    My question is this – who drives around with a mannequin arm in the car? Then decides to throw it out on the street corner? The writing seemed to suggest teenagers having fun, so I wasn’t too worried.

  7. Sara Meisinger says :

    Okay, my question is: What kind of nerve did it take for you to check that arm out? Did you just reach in and shake it? I would have been running down the street, not looking to see if a body was attached!

  8. Julane Hiebert says :

    Obviously, the four-footed friend bit the hand that fed him…and came back for more. You didn’t check for teeth marks? The picture? Now..THAT’s the mystery. Susie–you crack me up.

