Christmas cookies spell J-O-Y

Oh, the waiting!

The excruciating agony of waiting. Through long months of summer and fall for that one time of year when sugar cookies are made.

Cookies in the making

Cookies in the making.

Then, when it was December, Mom would let us get out the cookie cutters – tin bells, stars and trees. She’d mix up the dough and then… waiting for the dough to chill. Then, finally, the dough was rolled out and we went to work stamping out shapes.

More waiting. For the cookies to bake. Waiting for them to cool enough to decorate with red hots and sprinkles. Then finally…..the perfect sugar cookie.

All that waiting was worth it.

And still is. Cutting out sugar cookies is just like making bite-sized packages of Christmas joy, as far as I’m concerned. Something about those angels and reindeer lining the kitchen counter makes my heart smile.

Besides childhood memories of home, I remember  happy afternoons spent with friends from work. We’d each bring some dough, bake and decorate cookies together. Then we’d divide them up, sharing the plates of goodies at the office and with our families.

I always brought this sugar cookie dough. Sugar cookies can be a little tricky – not enough flour and you can’t get them out of the cookie cutters. Too much and they bake up hard enough to chip a tooth.

But these babies come out soft and perfect every time. Well… almost every time. Except for when my friend Meredith made them. We still laugh about that. Here’s my recipe:

Rarely Fail Sugar Cookies

1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 c. butter (softened)
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 1/4 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cream of tartar

Combine powdered sugar and butter. Stir in egg and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix well. Chill dough 2 to 3 hours or until easy to handle. Roll out on a lightly floured surface to about 1/4 inch thick. Cut with a cookie cutter and place on cookie sheet. Bake at 375 for 7 to 8 minutes or until lightly browned on the edges. Cool on wire racks.

The dough is kind of “sticky” so use plenty of flour when you roll them out. Put down a sheet of wax paper or a plastic mat and dump a bunch of flour on it. Then put a tablespoon or two on top before you roll it out with a rolling pin. If the rolling pin gets sticky or the cookies won’t lift off the paper, use more flour.

Susie-3994-EditPS 72

Merry Christmas cookie baking!

~ Susan

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Christmas cookies spell J-O-Y”

  1. Deborah Vogts says :

    Love sugar cookies. Such sweet memories. Glad you’re keeping the tradition, Susie!

  2. Susan Hollaway says :

    These sound delish, Susie. Too bad I don’t live closer to you, we could bake sugar cookies together! I know we’d have a snortin’ good time.

  3. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    We would have fun, I know it. I also enjoy sharing sugar cookies, it makes people smile.

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      When I used to make all those Christmas trays (23 at one time) to give out at Christmas time, I know I was blessed more than the recipients of the trays. It was such fun!

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I like your recipe title, “Rarely Fail…” LOL!

  5. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I don’t trust things that say “Never Fail.” It’s kind of like issuing a challenge! I’m getting ready to mix up my second batch this evening.

  6. Jeanie Berg says :

    Sounds yummy. Don’t know why I don’t make sugar cookies more often….so delicious, yet so simple. Maybe it dates back to childhood when that was the only kind of cookie we could afford to make…. or maybe brown sugar cookies, or oatmeal cookies. I wanted chocolate chip cookies like the “rich” kids got!! So ungrateful I must have been! Now I love melt-in-your-mouth buttery sugar cookies!!!!

    • Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

      Jeanie, You’re taking me back! I remember when chocolate chips cookies were a special treat. Mom never kept chocolate chips on hand – probably because we’d eat them! I agree that is part of the reason why I like sugar cookies – they’re simple and not too sweet. And they teach a good lesson in patience.

