Holiday Bars…A Special Treat!

I remember making Holiday Bars at Christmas time. They’re very rich, so that’s about the only time we made them. Back in the day when I made a gazillion Christmas trays to deliver around the community, these were a regular on them. I actually haven’t made them in years. Maybe I need to rethink that. =)

I’m sorry I don’t have a picture for you, but here’s the recipe. They’re also called Magic Cookie Bars, but the amounts of ingredients and the order in which you layer them are slightly different than this recipe. This is the way I was taught to make them. I’m sure they’d still be good if you choose to alter it a bit.

HOLIDAY BARS

This is a layer bar recipe and it’s “uber” simple.
Layer 1: Melt 1 1/2 sticks butter*, add 1 1/2 cups crush graham crackers, push into bottom of pan.
Layer 2: 1 1/2 cups coconut
Layer 3: 12 oz chocolate chips
Layer 4: 2 cups chopped pecans
Layer 5: Pour 1 can Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk over the top, let it set for 5 minutes.

Bake 30 minutes at 325 degrees. Loosen around the edges. Cool completely (overnight).
Cut and enjoy! * The original recipe called for margarine. I no longer use margarine and substitute butter instead.

May the sweet spirit and memories of Christmas — old and new — be even sweeter than the holiday recipes you share this Christmas.

Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday, Jesus!
Susan Hollaway
DSCN6048

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Holiday Bars…A Special Treat!”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    A friend at church makes these and they’re delicious. I never knew they were so easy. Since I missed out when you are making were making a gazillion of these, can I have some now? Pretty please?

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Sometimes the simpliest recipes are the best! My husband makes something similar but it has marshmellows on top and they’re called Rocky Road bars. I love recipe week!

  3. pagesfromstages says :

    Ooh, these sound wonderful!! Will have to try them soon. Thanks for the recipe. I love recipe week, too!

  4. Sara Meisinger says :

    These sound amazing! So rich my teeth hurt thinking about them!! Back to the store for more groceries–I don’t think I’ve boughten anything healthy in two weeks. Sweetened condensence milk, cream, sugar, cream, butter, cream, chocolate chips. It’s the most wonderful time of the year!!! Wish we could all get together and share these sweet treats.

  5. Jeanie Berg says :

    Sara, you make me laugh…glad I’m not the only one who feels that way about my grocery purchases! I literally covered the floor of our coat closet with all of the RICH ingredients to make all our many goodies!! Wasn’t room in my kitchen cupboards!

  6. Jeanie Berg says :

    Oh, and yes, recipe sounds delicious even though my family is not fond of coconut…I love it! I’m fairly certain I’ve had these in years past. I love recipe week too!

