When a Girl Meets a Beast

This week we’re continuing with the theme of heroes and heroines. I’ve indicated in previous posts my favorite book and characters are all wrapped up in Pride and Prejudice. So instead of talking about Lizzie and Darcy again, I thought I’d share my favorite hero and heroine from a Disney animated film.

My choices are found in the ever popular Beauty and the Beast—Belle and Beast.

Belle - DisneyBelle is undoubtedly beautiful on the outside but, as the towns people believe, it’s both “a pity and a sin, she doesn’t quite fit in.” Feeling like an awkward outsider makes her relatable. Everyone has times in their lives when they feel like a visitor from another planet. Belle also has an endearing love for books which is another characteristic many can identify with (especially the bloggers on this site!).

It is her person, however, that helps her live up to her name. She’s self-sacrificing to save her father. Belle teaches that valuable lesson to not judge a book by its cover and becomes the one “who could learn to love a beast.” She has a gracious and gentle spirit, yet possesses spunk that helps her rise to challenges. And in the end, it is Belle who ultimately saves Beast…a role reversal from your typical Disney movie.

Beast - DisneyBeast on the other hand seems, well, beastly. But over time we watch this character, who starts off as cold and in despair, develop hope and the ability to love. He becomes the hero the audience cheers for and eventually the audience can also see beyond the rough exterior to find the sympathetic soul within.

It is one thing to have a great hero and a great heroine, but there has to be chemistry between them to make the story come alive. And as strange as it may seem, by the end of the movie the audience hopes that the lovely Belle ends up with Beast over the ruggedly handsome, but egotistical, Gaston.

Beauty and the Beast Disney

I don’t know about you, but now I have the song track playing in my head about a “tale as old as time”. Maybe I’ll pop in the album while I finish my writing day.

Cherie Gagnon– Cherie

What’s your favourite Disney hero/heroine combo?

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “When a Girl Meets a Beast”

  1. Ian says :

    Lovely post, Cherie. Beauty & the Beast is my favourite Disney story & musical. I’ve seen the musical a couple of times. One many years ago starring a certain Hugh Jackman, too, before he made the big time.

  2. Sara Meisinger says :

    One of the local high schools did B & B a couple of years ago and I was amazed at how well they did! That one would be at the top of my list, along with The Little Mermaid. I don’t remember the hero blowing me away, but I loved Arial’s voice! Another top would be The Lion King. Okay, so those are probably the only three I’ve seen in years so maybe that’s why I like them all!!

    • Cherie Gagnon says :

      That was the first musical Nathan saw at a local highschool and he was enthralled. All three you mentioned are so well done and I love the soundtracks that go with them 🙂

  3. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I’m thinking Arial because she has red hair 🙂 But I can’t remember who the hero was from that movie!

  4. Kathy Gronau says :

    O Cherie, I don’t know, but I think I will in a couple of weeks. We are going to see them all, at Disney World, very soon. I will let you know, but I think its going to be Cinderella!

  5. Susan Hollaway says :

    Not sure about a Disney favorite, but I still sing some of the Lion King songs, so….

