Sleepless in Seattle.

Sleepless_in_seattleI love the hero and heroine in Sleepless in Seattle.  I can’t believe that movie was made clear back in 1993.  Eee-gads!  That’s 20 years ago.  But it’s still on my “memorable movie” list.

I generally like the portrayals that Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan give to their characters.  They were hero and heroine in another movie I enjoyed, You’ve Got Mail.  Meg has always been cute as a button with quirky actions that are distinctly hers and Tom has great comedic timing.   While I don’t necessarily agree with their “real life” views  on things, or what Meg Ryan did to her lips… I do like the way they act.

Some favorite quotes and scenes: from Sleepless in Seattle:

Jonah: Talk to her, dad. She’s a doctor.

Sam: Of what? Her first name could be Doctor.

Ha!

Doctor Marcia Fieldstone: People who truly loved once are far more likely to love again. Sam, do you think there’s someone out there you could love as much as your wife?

Sam Baldwin: Well, Dr. Marcia Fieldstone, that’s hard to imagine.

Doctor Marcia Fieldstone: What are you going to do?

Sam Baldwin: Well, I’m gonna get out of bed every morning… breath in and out all day long. Then, after a while I won’t have to remind myself to get out of bed every morning and breath in and out… and, then after a while, I won’t have to think about how I had it great and perfect for a while.

Doctor Marcia Fieldstone: Tell me what was so special about your wife?

Sam Baldwin: Well, how long is your program? Well, it was a million tiny little things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were suppose to be together… and I knew it. I knew it the very first time I touched her. It was like coming home… only to no home I’d ever known… I was just taking her hand to to help her out of a car and I knew. It was like… magic.

Oh man!  My heart be still.

Annie Reed: Now that was when people KNEW how to be in love. They knew it! Time, distance… nothing could separate them because they knew. It was right. It was real. It was…

Becky: A movie! That’s your problem! You don’t want to be in love. You want to be in love in a movie.

Well, yeah. At least for the time we’re watching the movie or reading the book. Because we are the characters in some respect. And that’s not to diminish my own hero, but just like a lot of guys enjoy a good shoot-em-up movie, we girls (or at least me) love a good love story. I want to smile. I want to cry.  I want to laugh. And I want to swoon.

I love a good chick flick  and  my real-life hero tolerates all the romantic movies I record, especially at Christmas time. He doesn’t necessarily watch them with me (almost never), but he understands I like them. Just like I understand he loves action adventure and football. Okay, well, I don’t understand it, but I respect it.  =)  We may not love each other’s tastes in movies and television preferences, but we love each other. And that’s what’s important. And believe it or not, despite our completely different tastes in movie and television viewing, we manage to find some common ground in a few shows we enjoy watching together.

It wasn’t in the movies, but in real life that the first time I talked to my now husband on the phone–I swooned. I had to sit down. His voice still does it to me. After 23 1/2 years. Sigh.  He’s not a movie star hero or a sports hero, but he’s my hero. Not perfect. But perfect for me.

Susan Hollaway

DSCN6048

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Sleepless in Seattle.”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    Oh, you hit the nail on the head with that movie! An all time favorite of mine too! I could quote all those parts right along with you. Thankfully my husband and I enjoy a lot of the same movies and books. He does like way more westerns than I can handle! And football. But I can tolerate…..:) I loved what you said about hearing your husband’s voice on the phone—mine has always told me that was one of the reasons he fell in love with me–he loved hearing my voice on the phone. Maybe kids are missing out on a wonderful thing because all they do is texting (with improper spelling! Ha!)

  2. Sara Meisinger says :

    Can you really quote all of that from memory? Wow!!! I think I’d better download that movie and watch it again and again and again!

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      Don’t be so impressed, Sara. I do love those parts, but I had to look them up to get them right. I don’t have them memorized. I just like them. A lot!

      Oooooh! Next time we have a Pages mini-retreat, we should plan enough time in to do a movie. A heart-warming, funny, make us sigh romantic movie! Just perfect for a bunch of fiction writers, don’t ya’ think?

  3. julane hiebert says :

    Sleepless in Seattle is one of my favorites, and While Your Were Sleeping is a close second. But for a romance that says more with eyes and facial expression than dialogue—you can’t beat Pride and Prejudice. Watch it sometime and pay close attention to his eyes when he sees Elizabeth. ooohhhhh!!

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Oh Susie! It may be sappy, but that exchange between Sam and Dr. Marcia Fieldstone is my favourite part of that movie….so incredibly sweet.

