German Chocolate Upside Down Cake

Happy Valentine’s Day! We’re celebrating with chocolate recipes this week in honor of Valentine’s Day, love, chocolate, and how we love chocolate.  =)  I must admit that last week I was thinking I’d better come up with a fabo chocolate recipe since my day to post is actually ON Valentine’s Day.   However, I’m going to post a recipe that sounds really interesting and yummy that I’ve never tried before.

First of all, I don’t make a lot of desserts anymore, because…. well, I’ll eat them if I do.  And I’m trying to save desserts for special occasions.  They’re too tempting otherwise.   Secondly, is there truly a totally bad recipe if it has chocolate in it?  Will it really matter if I share a recipe that I’ve not tried before? I mean, if it sounds really good, it probably is. It does have chocolate in it after all.  And thirdly, it’s just a recipe. If it doesn’t work out, then you’re only out a little time, a few ingredients, and calories actually saved if it isn’t any good and you don’t eat much of it. Right?  So, no pressure.  =)

And while I normally make things from scratch, I do not think it’s a sin to use a box mix.  Like the rest of the Pages From Stages gals, I too, believe in grace and the occasional box mix.

I found this recipe on http://www.about.com and give them full credit for the picture and the recipe.

German Chocolate Upside Down CakeGerman Chocolate Upside Down Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flaked sweetened coconut
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 package (18.25 ounces) German chocolate cake mix
  • eggs, water, and oil as directed on package
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Preparation:

Grease and flour a 9x13x2-inch baking pan. Heat oven to 350°.

Sprinkle coconut and pecans evenly over the bottom of the prepared pan. Prepare cake mix with the appropriate measurements of water, oil, and eggs, following the package directions. Pour the cake batter over the coconut and pecans. Beat together the cream cheese, butter and confectioners’ sugar; drop by spoonfuls over the top of cake batter. Put the cake in the oven with a large baking pan under it just in case the mixture spills over a bit. Bake for about 45 to 50 minutes. A toothpick should come out clean when inserted into the center of the cake portion.

Cool the cake in the pan on a rack. To serve, cut into individual serving-size pieces and, using a spatula or cake server, remove from the pan and turn upside-down on dessert plates.

Note: I totally love that this recipe does not give the number of servings.  So, it’s Valentine’s Day– a special occasion– use your own discretion.  (Mwahahahaha.)

Let me know if you try this recipe. I think I’ll be trying it soon as German Chocolate cake is one of my hubby’s faves.

One last Valentine thought.  Yesterday we attended my husband’s grandmother’s funeral. One thing the pastor said when sharing about Grandma’s life was particularly touching to me.  He told the story from years ago on a Valentine’s  Day when Grandpa said to Grandma, “If they have sweethearts in heaven, will you still be mine?”

A few days ago, Grandma joined her earthly sweetheart in heaven. I don’t know everything there is to know about heaven yet, but I know it’s real and it’s going to be amazing. The love that abounds there will be more than any Valentine’s Day we could ever imagine.

So as you celebrate Valentine’s Day, may you feel the love of Jesus, our ultimate Valentine. He loved us so much, He gave up his life so that we could spend eternity in heaven, in His presence and the presence of God. Does love get any better than that?

 

 

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “German Chocolate Upside Down Cake”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I like right-side-up German chocolate cake, so I bet this would be good too. Happy Valentine’s Day, Susie!

  2. julane hiebert says :

    Will have to try this. I LOVE the fact it uses a cake mix. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jeanie Berg says :

    My hubby’s favorite cake is German Chocolate–the thicker the gooey coconut stuff on top is, the better! Since our family does not like coconut he doesn’t get it very often. I think I’ll give this a try sometime and see what he thinks.

  4. Susan Hollaway says :

    Jeanie and Julane, I hope you like it!

  5. Berneda Jewell says :

    Hi, I’m Sara’s aunt and my hubby LOVES German Chocolate cake. I made your upside down cake for him on Valentine’s Day. It was sooo good. He’s a little apprehensive when I tell him I’m making a new recipe but this one is a keeper!

