Mud Room

We farm. We have cattle. We have mud–a lot of it.

011This has been our mud corner for the past ten years. A small area in the utility room. There’s been more than 1000 words over this!

021This is what we’ve been working on this week. A real mudroom FINALLY!

1000 words of excitement from me!

What home improvements have made a huge difference in your life?

Sara

11 responses to “Mud Room”

  1. Susan Hollaway says :

    Way cool, Sara! Congrats on the new soon-to-be mud room. I love the idea of a mudroom. We don’t farm, but we’re still plenty messy. LOL

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      It’s already making a huge difference in my attitude! It won’t look like Better Homes and Garden, but it will be practical. I can’t wait!!

  2. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    Congrats on your mud room! My mom fought an unending battle with muddy boots in our house.

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      An unending battle is the perfect way to describe it! Our contractor just told me to do the floor and walls in “mud brown” and I’ll be happy!

      • Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

        Haha – Good idea! I was out on the farm today taking pictures and got in the mud, naturally! I was thinking how much my mom would have loved to have a mud room like this. This may turn into the most used room of your house.

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Mud rooms are such a great idea. Love it! Can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

  4. Ian says :

    Who would have thought? A mud room? Wow. Great idea.

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      It IS a great idea! When we redid this house, we had two little boys and it was something to add later. Ten years later, those boys have grown and so have their many pairs of boots, coats and coveralls. Do you call them mudrooms in Austrailia?

  5. Jeanie Berg says :

    Every farm wife longs for a mud room. Fact of life. We had plenty of muddy smelly boots and gloves, etc. when we lived on the farm. Especially smelly when they (either boots or gloves) were put on the floor furnace register to get a quick drying job while hubby was in for a break. We raised hogs, so just put your imagination to work and you’ll be halfway there!!! When we sold the farm and moved to town we built a house which had a wondeful mudroom with closets to hide offending boots, and hang all the extra outdoor coats, etc, with washer and dryer right at hand……then we seldom actually NEEDED the mudroom anymore, but I still loved it. Congrats on the new addition, Sara!

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      I don’t need to imagine that pig farm smell. My grandparents had pigs and all I have to do is close my eyes and I’m back there and can smell it! On some days, five registers will have a pair of gloves on them!! You’ll be glad to know, I’m having three closets built in, each with their own shelves, hooks and door. Mark and the older boys will each get one. That way all the ‘offending’ stuff is behind closed doors! Farmers wives really do think alike!

