If I could play the banjo…..

Don’t you like to daydream? We’re doing that this week, asking “If I could…”

If I could….. play the banjo.

I would…. put together a little act. We would travel around and put on shows that were silly and fun. Like Pickin’ and Grinnin’, only class things up a bit. We’d tell jokes, a few corny ones, and long stories that were more about the telling than the punch line. I’d make fun of myself to help people not take themselves so seriously.

If I could play the banjo, I’d play happy music that would make people tap their toes and forget about their troubles for awhile.

Because if you’re playing the banjo, you can wear pearl snap shirts and cowgirl bling every day of the week and nobody thinks you’re putting on airs.

with baxterbI mentioned a few weeks ago that the organization I work for was preparing to host cowboy poet Baxter Black in an event. I was touched by how humble and down to earth he was in person. Everyone in the room was laughing at his high-energy act. Here’s a picture with Baxter and the Board of Directors. We’d spent months planning and worrying over the event and I love how here, we’re all grinning.

If I could play the banjo…. I would pluck out a tune and put a smile on your face.

~Susan

You can see more pictures here and on Facebook.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “If I could play the banjo…..”

  1. julane hiebert says :

    Oh, Miss Susie–you always leave me smiling and feeling happy even without your banjo playing. But it would be awesome!! I’ll put new wax paper on my comb and hum along with you!!

  2. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    We’d be quite a duo, wouldn’t we, Julane? We’d have fun even if the audience didn’t!

  3. Sara Meisinger says :

    I can see you playing the banjo, Susie! I think you should look into some lessons! What’s stopping you?

  4. Cherie Gagnon says :

    You look absolutely stunning In that photo!

  5. Susan Hollaway says :

    Susie,
    I want a front row seat to your banjo show. I loved this post. I love to laugh and I know I’d have a snortin’ good time at your banjo show. Don’t forget to let us all know when you and Julane will be debuting. =)

