In the cloud – pretty orange salad

I made this salad for my family’s Easter celebration. I like the pretty color as much as the flavor. (You can tell I got a little messy with my mixing.)

orange salad

Orange Cloud

1 small container cottage cheese
1 box orange Jell-O
1 can mandarin oranges
1 can crushed pineapple
1/2 carton whipped topping

Combine Jell-O with cottage cheese. I usually add a teaspoon of sugar because the orange flavor can be tart, but it’s not necessary. Add in the pineapple and oranges, saving a few slices to garnish the top. Fold in whipped topping. Refrigerate for a few hours before serving.

Susie-3994-EditPS 72May you enjoy it if you decide to give it a try.

~ Susan

Jell-O salads – Are you a fan or an “I’ll pass”?

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “In the cloud – pretty orange salad”

  1. Sara Meisinger says :

    This might be why we’re friends, Susie!! I’ll eat all the leftovers of this salad (not sure it isn’t more of a dessert but I won’t tell). I never realized until a few years ago that not everyone was a fan of JELLO salads! That seems impossible! Maybe we should have a week of JELLO blogs?

    • Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

      I’d love a week of Jello blogs! My favorite part of church dinners is trying all the Jello salads. This is kind of more dessert like. But I figure with the cottage cheese and oranges, it’s got some health benefits.

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Looks yummy, Susie! I agree, Jello salads and church dinners are a package deal!

  3. Jeanie Berg says :

    LOVE jello….we have it every Sunday at our house. Grandkids love it. But, sorry Susie, I hate this particular salad because I hate cottage cheese (Gasp!) But it does look very pretty! Once in a while I have accidentally taken some at a church dinner thinking it was something else…..it gets scraped onto my husband’s plate very quickly!

  4. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    Julane, I like the idea of trying different flavors. I’d never thought of that. Jeanie, I think we’ve all had that experience at a church dinner where we end up with something that looked good, but turned out quite different! I was at the store last night and decided to make a cake. I found a new orange dreamsicle cake mix and am going to mix in some mandarin oranges.

