Coffee or tea?

Picture courtesy of this site.

Coffee-lovers abound in this country. But I’m not one of them. I love
the smell of coffee, but don’t care much for the taste.  I can drink it, but I have to be really cold. Or have a sweet cinnamon roll accompany it.   But then that makes that cup of coffee really high in calories.

All the specialty coffee terms are enough to make your head spin.  Or at
least mine.  I think it’d take a lot of training for me to become a coffee-house
barista. However, I do love a challenge and it might be a fun job.

Picture courtesy of this site.

I’m more of a tea-lover myself. There’s nothing like a good cup of tea to start off my day.

Does that stop me from enjoying walking down the coffee aisle where you can grind your own beans? Nope. It smells good! But give me a good cup of tea–hot or cold–and I’m a happy girl.

When my daughter was younger, every afternoon we’d have tea time. It was such a neat way to spend time together. The traditions of “tea” in the United Kingdom really appeal to me. Maybe I should just adopt them.

I don’t know if there’s nearly as many options or choices with tea as there are with coffee. But I love tea so much, I even enjoy a good cup of Lipton. I am trying, however, to branch out and experience more variety with tea. I’m thinkin’ it’s going to be a very enjoyable journey.

Whether you favor coffee or tea, savor it and the time it takes to drink it. And if the ritual allows you to share it with someone you love..all the better!

Cheers!

Susan Hollaway

Mom cover original

12 responses to “Coffee or tea?”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I think coffee is an acquired taste, and I’ve really acquired it! But I like tea as well. I enjoy regular ol’ orange pekoe, but I’ve trying to drink more green tea since it’s supposed have all those antioxidants…I think that, too, is an acquired taste.

  2. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    I enjoy a nice cup of tea, as well. My favorite is Constant Comment.

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      I like a lot of the more plain flavors. I know cream is for coffee and milk is for tea, but I I tried some Heath creamer in some tea a while back at an event. It “ain’t bad” in tea. “Ain’t bad” AT ALL! LOL

  3. pagesfromstages says :

    OOH, I love Constant Comment, too!! Oh wait–we were talking about tea!! Oh well, I still love TO constantly comment!! 🙂

  4. Kathy Gronau says :

    I LOVE YOUR POST THIS TIME. VERY COOL

  5. Jeanie Berg says :

    I love tea too!!!! Love the flavored teas that are decaf so I can drink them in the evenings……need my beauty sleep, you know!

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      There are some great decaf or herbal teas out there, Jeanie. I’m still experimenting. I heard about a tangerine orange today that sounds good.

      Coffee is very prevalent in America and I’ve often wondered if there was something wrong with me that I never acquired a taste for it. My mom and dad always liked it, but we kids never grew to like it.

      I do, however, Jamoca ice cream and desserts made that have coffee added to them. Go figure! It must be that I like the delicate taste of coffee instead of a stronger one.

  6. Delia Latham says :

    I’m not a coffee drinker either, but I love the way it smells! There’s nothing quite like waking up to the aroma of strong coffee on the brew. Still though…would I be chased off the web if I admitted that I prefer Dr. Pepper over coffee OR tea…? lol (Great post, Susan!)

    • Susan Hollaway says :

      Delia, My grandpa LOVED Dr. Pepper. In fact, every time you visited his house, he ALWAYS had it. And back then, it was always in glass bottles. Your comment brought back some very fond memories. Thanks so much for sharing. And you’re welcome any time…no matter what your drink preference.

