Put that on an inspirational poster

Pet Peeves are the theme this week.

I’ve got a list a mile long of things that bug me. One, however, has really gotten under my skin lately.

applesofgoldI’m tired of inspirational plaques.

It’s impossible to walk into a decorating store or craft display at the local festival and not be bombarded with a thousand motivational sayings. Facebook is even worse. I can’t figure out what my friends are up to because of all the advice dished out in eight-word poems. Unwrap a piece of chocolate and it tries to tell you how to live life. I bought some cough drops this winter and they promised, “a pep talk in every drop.” Sure enough, each little wrapper was stamped with motivational thoughts. There’s only one thing I ask from a cough drop and it’s not advice.

I confess to have fallen under the influence. Here are sayings displayed on plaques in my home:

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, but learning to dance in the rain.

Saddle up and follow your dreams.

Life is good.

A face without freckles is like a sky without stars.

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, think on these things.

Amazing grace.

Friends are the family you choose.

Love hopes.

As Christians, we are some of the worst offenders. The gaudiest picture, with a few words of scripture penciled on it, suddenly becomes sanctified.

Why does this trend bother me?

  • Life is too rich and complex to always be summed up in a cute saying. There are situations where simple wisdom does apply, but much of the time, there are no easy answers and it’s a mistake to always insist on one.
  • It dulls me to the Bible. The living word of God starts to sound trite when it is stamped on every mug and coaster I own. Is it possible to have too much scripture? Maybe? I know it’s a pitfall for me to emphasize only certain verses and ignore others or to try to apply a verse to a situation where it doesn’t fit.

I probably need a plaque in my living room with this verse from James:  “Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double minded. Grieve, mourn and wail. Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom.” I haven’t found that one at the store yet, but I also haven’t really looked.

Susie-3994-EditPS 72

Have I turned into a curmudgeon or is anyone else tired of all the motivation?

Or maybe I just have a case of the Mondays.

~ Susan

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Put that on an inspirational poster”

  1. Sara Meisinger says :

    Suddenly, I’m thinking of every place in my house I have anything with words on it! I’ll try to have them out by the time you get here!!! Be warned: there are a few painted on the walls–a bedsheet over them, maybe? Thanks, Susie. You made me laugh and brightened my day! Guess that changes my trip to Hobby Lobby today–NO SAYINGS!

  2. pagesfromstages says :

    I like them, Susie. But I won’t buy you one!! 🙂 And I might consider taking down the one in the bunk room while you are here!!! Just for you!!

    • Susan Mires says :

      I like them too – but I’ve met my capacity! Another confession; that’s not all the plaques I have, those are only in the living room! Don’t change a thing before I get there, Julane.

  3. Sherri says :

    I agree there is somewhat of a bombardment of them everywhere you look…. especially in my Facebook newsfeed – and don’t even get me started on the ones on there that say “Share if you love Jesus!”

    All that aside though, they are helpful – I have two on my desk at work, one says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” and the other says “Once you choose hope, anything is possible” I have 2 at home, one says, “Be joyful always, pray continually, give thanks for everything” Then there are the Bible verses I have typed out and on my keyboard and monitor at work – these change periodically based on what God’s speaking to me or what I need to be reminded of.

    All that to say, I think that chosen wisely it can be helpful to have God’s Truth in front of you in a visible way during day to day activities. But, I agree they seem to be EVERYWHERE.

    • Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

      Very well said! I have a few verses that I keep in front of me too. I really like the verse “Be joyful always…” I may need to make an exception for it.

      • Sherri says :

        Tee-Hee…. our youth pastor and I have a joke that when God says “Do all things without grumbling and complaining” that ALL things does not include Iowa winters! 😉

  4. Kathy Gronau says :

    I loved your post today Susie, there are a few I like but most are like…well I wonder what the world would really be like if half of the people who posted them lived according to what they just posted. Sherri, I am like you on the “Share if” posts. Even worse are the ones who threaten you if you don’t share. Those I not only don’t share, I usually delete. Just sayin.

  5. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    So true – If we would live it instead of just “copy and share”!

  6. Lora Young says :

    Enjoyed your post, Susie. It inspired (Hahaha) me to see what I have hanging on my walls. Only t) two! One (Hebrews 4:16) that I “commissioned” Rebekah to paint for me and one of those sticky wall things that encourages me. I think even *you* would be proud. 😀

  7. Cherie Gagnon says :

    After a very long day, this was a real pick me up! Hahaha

    Amen to the other commenters about the “Shar ifs”…. Very annoying!

  8. Jeanie Berg says :

    Oh, this just made me laugh…..It is so very true! They are everywhere (even in my house–mostly counted crossstitch pictures with a verse) I’ll admit, there are many that I love to read, but not hang all over my walls. Facebook is the worst offender. The “Share if’s” make you feel positively wicked if you don’t share. The news feed gets so clogged up with all that stuff that there is no room for communicating with my friends! Loved your post!

  9. Susan Mires says :

    So glad it could brighten your day – sort of like a short, pithy saying!

  10. Susan Hollaway says :

    Sorry I’m so late chiming in on the comments. I like the inspirational sayings, but I like them strategically placed, not as wall paper. I totally understood what you meant. I enjoy your sense of humor!

