Pet Peeve: Crazy Warnings

I’ve realized this week how many pet peeves I have. Shopping seems to bring out many of them! All week I’ve tried to come up with one that hasn’t been mentioned. My pet peeve is crazy warning labels.

* Glue that warns you not to eat it. Really?

* Coffee cups that warn you the contents are hot (I know, it all started with the lady spilling her coffee from McDonald’s).

* Hair spray that tells you to not spray your hair over an open flame. Whew! Glad I read that one!

* The warning on the driver’s side visor mirror that tells you to not use the mirror while driving.

* Bags of Hot Tamale candies that tell you not to stick them up your nose (just kidding–I hope).

* We farm and have an assortment of ATV’s. The smallest one is a three-wheeler that goes about 15 mph and doesn’t even come to my knee. There is a warning sticker on it that says no person under the age of 16 should be driving it. Envision that one for a moment. I bet that 16-year-old was THRILLED to get an ATV that size! Whoo-hoo!!

When I see these types of labels I cringe. Do they really think we’re THAT dumb? And then that sad moment of truth sneaks in and I know those companies are only protecting themselves.

My family loves Adventures in Odyssey. One of our favorites is when the local trouble-maker falls through the skylight on the roof of Whit’s End and gets hurt. He and his dad are very sorry until a lawyer shows up. The lawyer’s name is Mr. Weasel, but he always corrects people with the ‘proper’ pronunciation of Why-zel. Now when we find a crazy warning, we’re quick to mention ‘Mr. Weasel, I mean Why-zel’.

Do you have some favorite crazy warnings? I’d love to hear them!

Sara

16 responses to “Pet Peeve: Crazy Warnings”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I like the warning to remove the plastic wrapping from the frozen pizza before sticking if it in the oven.

    (And yes we do frozen pizza from time to time-haha)

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      I’ve laughed at that one too, but for the record, once I put a frozen casserole in the oven and forgot about the plastic wrap under the tinfoil. Now I always write a warning in huge letters on the top!

  2. pagesfromstages says :

    Or the “DO NOT REMOVE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW” tags that come on mattresses or pillows….like there are bedding police watching you.

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      I meant to mention that one–I finally did pull the tags off our mattress and you won’t believe what happened!

  3. Susan Mires says :

    I was just thinking – some of these would make great inspirational plaques to hang on the wall 🙂

  4. Helen Schroeder says :

    You mentioning the hot tamales warning made me remember babysitting for your brothers (not sure if you were born yet or not), and one of them stuck a red hot up his nose! So, see? There are “those kids” out there! ☺

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      Mom was here so I read your comment to her. She still remembers that one too!

  5. Deborah Raney says :

    How about the bottle of daily shower “cleaner” that says, “For best results start with a clean shower.” Huh?

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      That’s why I never buy the stuff because I’m not sure what it really does!

  6. Susan Hollaway says :

    Very entertaining post, Sara! I can’t think of a crazy warning off hand, but I’ve read so many that amaze me that they need to be there. But you’re right … the companies need to protect themselves from sue-happy people and those who apparently don’t have any common sense. =)

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      Tonight you’ll think of several and won’t be able to sleep!

  7. Jeanie Berg says :

    How about the one on the windshield protector that you put in place when you’re parked to keep the hot sun off of your dashboard…It says Do not drive with this in place. Yeah, right! Yoo Hoo, Is anyone in front of me????

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      This is the one my mom said!! It drives her crazy–like anyone COULD drive with it in place!

