My Mom

147My mom was mom.

She didn’t need to be my best friend. She told me those words from time to time during those teenage years.

Mom prayed for me, raised me, taught me, disciplined me, encouraged me and shared with me. She worked hard and took on extra sewing and catering jobs so I could go to a Christian school. She sewed most of my clothes and all my formal dresses. Mom hurt when my heart was broken and then firmly reminded me God had a better plan.

Now I’m a mom and I still need my mom more than ever.

Last Sunday we worked together to sew this quilt. I’ve had the fabric since last summer and planned all year to get it done early for a graduation gift. With two weeks left before the gift-giving day, mom came to my rescue–again. As we cut the fabric and sewed the squares, mom listened as I spilled out my frustrations on a weekend that had gone sour. She laughed at the funny parts and offered a sweet balm to the not-so-funny.

We finished the quilt but more important, we spent the afternoon together.

My mom is my mom and after those teenage years had passed, we became the dearest of friends. My mom is a blessing to me!

Sara

9 responses to “My Mom”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    Those kinds of moms are the best kind–the ones who don’t try to be your friend when you’re not ready for that! By the time I was ready for that I wasn’t living near my mom anymore, so I never developed a friend kind of relationship with my mom. But she was always just mom, and I loved her for it. By the way, the quilt is beautiful. I love the colors. I would probably never be bold enough to think Orange!!!

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    That is a beautiful quilt and so glad I could see it in person! That student is one lucky girl to get such a personal gift 🙂

  3. pagesfromstages says :

    When it’s all said and done…don’t you hope your kids will also rise up and call you blessed?

    • Kathy Gronau says :

      yes I do, and smart, and fun, and beautiful, and intuitive, and helpful, and wise, and…………….

  4. Kathy Gronau says :

    Sara, that is awesome. I don’t really know your mom, but I think of here almost every night when I crawl under my quilt! Would like to know her better.

  5. Ian says :

    Sara – what a lovely tribute to your mom.. Funny, we in Australia write it mum! But I guess mom makes more sense being an abbreviation of mother..

    Enjoy your Mothers Day on Sunday, Sara.

  6. Susan Hollaway says :

    A wonderful tribute to your mom, Sara! And what a beautiful quilt — made with love!

  7. angchronicles says :

    Sara, I can relate to those “teenager years” now transformed to the dearest mom to laugh and cry with. Amazing how relationships change once you walk in another’s shoes. Happy Mother’s Day.

  8. angchronicles says :

    I have given you the WordPress Family Award. For information and rules go to my blog: http://angchronicles.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/angchronicles-receives-wp-family-award/

