Fancies…by Lucy Maud Montgomery

First, I would like to congratulate, Larry Timm, for winning a copy of Angelguard by Ian Acheson in the book giveaway last Tuesday! We’ll be in touch about getting a copy to you! Click here to read my review of this supernatural thriller.

This week we are talking about flowers. I’d like to share with you a poem by one of Canada’s beloved authors, Lucy Maud Montgomery. Many of you will recognize the name as Montgomery is the author of Anne of Green Gables. Along with this poem, I’ve posted a few pictures of flowers that I took this spring.

Fancies

– by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Daffodils from my garden

Daffodils from my garden

Surely the flowers of a hundred springs

Are simply the souls of beautiful things!

The poppies aflame with gold and red

Were the kisses of lovers in days that are fled.

The purple pansies with dew-drops pearled

Were the rainbow dreams of a youngling world.

 

Flowers from a park in Amherstburg, Ontario.

Flowers from a park in Amherstburg, Ontario.

 

The lily, white as a star apart,

Was the first pure prayer of a virgin heart.

The daisies that dance and twinkle so

Were the laughter of children in long ago.

The sweetness of all true friendship yet

Lives in the breath of the mignonette.

To the white narcissus there must belong

The very delight of a maiden’s song.

 

Wild Flowers from Ojibway Conservation Area. Windsor, Ontario.

Wild Flowers from Ojibway Conservation Area. Windsor, Ontario.

 

And the rose, all flowers of the earth above,

Was a perfect, rapturous thought of love.

Oh! surely the blossoms of all the springs

Must be the souls of beautiful things.

What is your favourite spring flower?Cherie Gagnon

–  Cherie

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Fancies…by Lucy Maud Montgomery”

  1. Susan Mires (@susanmires) says :

    What a lovely poem. And your daffodils are pretty too. They’re one of my favorites 🙂

  2. Sara Meisinger says :

    I think tulips are my favorite, but that don’t last long enough. Thanks for sharing, Cherie.

  3. pagesfromstages says :

    Wild phlox…or some call is sweet rocket. It grows wild in the ditches and pastures here.

  4. Jeanie Berg says :

    Lilacs….for their lovely colors and wonderful fragrance.

  5. Susan Hollaway says :

    Hmmm. That’s a toughy. I really like mums. They’re mostly fall bloomers, but I love the array of colors you can find them in.

  6. Kathy Gronau says :

    I love the poem!!! Makes me want to go right out and work in the yard. I have these little purple flowers that come up almost first in the spring–muscari or something like that I think. I love it because when they show up, I know spring is here! Crocus do the same, I need to get some of those!

