Wise Words from a Wise Man

My oldest son was four-years-old when we thought he needed to begin formal music training. The instrument of choice was the violin because a teacher came to our town every week to give lessons. Mr. Lentz was a dear old man. He was rather frail but probably the best teacher I’ve ever met. Kind, compassionate, gentle, and wise. I always thought a soft breeze might blow him over, but he stood strong when he dealt with his students.

One day, as I sat in the classroom a few rows behind where Mr. Lentz was working with my son, I heard my son make a comment that raised my head quickly. I stared at his back so hard, willing him to look over his shoulder so I could give him that look. I think I even hissed his name, hoping he heard the warning, but prayed Mr. Lentz’s hearing wouldn’t be good that morning.

Mr. Lentz stopped what he was saying and put his hand on my son’s shoulder. I wanted to sink into my chair–someone else was going to discipline my wayward child. What would the older man think of me as a parent?

Then Mr. Lentz looked me straight in the eye and said, “Sara, there’s a point when you have to realize that you are not responsible for everything your children do. They are their own person and they will say and do things that you won’t always like. It reflects on them, not you. The sooner you realize that and accept it, the happier you’ll be.”

The violin lessons stopped, but those words will always be with me. Words that remind me it isn’t always about me. Wise words from a wise man. I will always be thankful for the lesson I was given that day.

Sara

One response to “Wise Words from a Wise Man”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    It’s so nice when someone give a us parents a piece of advice that makes our jobs easier or takes pressure off of little. Good advice. I’ll try to remember that.

