Show &Tell

I never imagined what a blessing I’d get every day from teaching a group of high school girls. It might help that I’m not teaching Physics! This is an amazing group of young ladies who embrace whatever the project is. We’ve had some funny moments (icing colors that no one would dare to eat) and a few frustrating ones (sixteen girls on sixteen different sewing machines), but this class is learning and doing a fabulous job. Here’s a few pictures to show what our class is about.

Finger prints made by each girl to show how unique they are. The finished product was amazing.

Finger prints made by each girl to show how unique they are. They used their thumb print, then filled in the lines with words to describe themselves. The finished product was amazing.

After a few weeks of basic cooking, we spent time learning how to decorate cakes. I was amazed at the results and it was their first time to decorate!

After a few weeks of basic cooking, we spent time learning how to decorate cakes. I was amazed at the results and it was their first time to decorate!

Now we are spending about six weeks on basic sewing. The girls are making pillowcase dresses that will be given to little girls in Africa. The girls will each make three dresses. Here they are working in our very tight, but fun classroom!

Now we are spending about six weeks on basic sewing. The girls are making pillowcase dresses that will be given to little girls in Africa. The girls will each make three dresses. Here they are working in our very tight, but fun classroom!

Just a few of the dresses. I can't wait to see them all finished!

Just a few of the dresses. I can’t wait to see them all finished!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love the saying above the dresses. More than anything, it’s what I want the girls to learn this year.

Live life to the fullest & make a difference along the way.

Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for letting me share!

Sara

11 responses to “Show &Tell”

  1. Susan Mires says :

    What talented students – those cakes look amazing. They must have a really good teacher. It’s incredible what a student can do when someone believes in them and gives them the tools to try.l

  2. Jeanie Berg says :

    Can we come join your class? Looks like so much fun!

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Those dresses are adorable dresses!

    • pagesfromstages says :

      We’re almost finished and the whole wall is lined with dresses! So cute. On Monday we start our bags, so a few will have to finish dresses on their time. It’s been a great beginning project!

  4. Jeanie Berg says :

    By the way, I LOVE those thumb print pictures. I clicked on them to see them up close….awesome! Very artsy and will be a wonderful keepsake forever!

    • pagesfromstages says :

      These turned out amazing. I wish my hand writing was neater so mine looked as beautiful as theirs did. I’ve heard some girls are already planning to use them on their graduation tables in May!

  5. Sandie Phipps says :

    You are just too cool!!!

  6. angchronicles says :

    I want to be sixteen, again, just to learn those basic skills. especially sewing. Oh, how sewing and ironing are my demise, and I’m now a woman of a certain age that will not attempt to learn. Sara, how awesome. Displaying your Titus womanly skills.

    • pagesfromstages says :

      You could learn, Angela! I do know my sewing part is much different than when I was in this class years ago. They are learning as they go and perfection and following all the rules aren’t strictly enforced! I think it was the expected perfection that caused so many to never sew again and I want these girls to enjoy the creating part! Thanks for the encouraging words. I feel so blessed to get to do this!

