True in 2014

“The 22 Most Embarassing Pages of the 1990 JCPenney Christmas Catalog” might be an unlikely place to find my inspirational thought for 2014, but there it was.

penney sweaterI was giggling at the acid washed jeans and turtlenecks. Then this picture came up and suddenly, it felt like 1990 again and I was in high school.

This sweater – or something like it – was my dream. Pretty, soft and pastel. Girls who wore sweaters like that were beautiful. The kind of girls who styled their hair and had boyfriends and went to homecoming. Not girls like me, who had frizzy red hair, who lived on a farm and rode the bus to school, who’s big social engagement was youth group at church.

That pretty pink sweater – I was convinced if only I had that, it would make me happy. But here it is now, nothing more than a joke on the internet.

Lately, I have been thinking about how easy it is to be deceived by lies, to become convinced that the lies are true. This book I reviewed spurred my thinking. A family member made a drastic, devastating decision because he believed something that wasn’t true.

A couple weeks ago, I was feeling pretty bummed. Home alone on a Friday night. As I surfed through Facebook, looking at everyone’s party pictures, I was wishing if only this or that were different.

But then I clicked on that funny link and it made me think. Would “this or that” really answer my heart’s desire? Maybe I was just wishing for another aqua sweater. What if I measure every thought that I take into my heart and only accept what is true? What if I make decisions and live every day based not on what is currently before my eyes, but on what is eternally true?

True – that is my word for 2014. And how to know what’s true? Check out this verse featured in Our Daily Bread on Dec. 30: The one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making everything new!” And then He said to me “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.” Revelation 21:5

Jesus said that He is the truth. I think I’ll be spending a lot of time with my Bible in 2014. Learning and believing what is TRUE.

Susie PinkHappy 2014!

~ Susan

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

9 responses to “True in 2014”

  1. Sara Meisinger says :

    You will get so much encouragement from reading Believing God. Truth is what Beth Moore is writing about. It will change your life! Great word and wonderful post.

    • Susan Mires says :

      It’s on my “short list” to get to soon. I’m looking forward to it – but a little nervous, too, about what I’ll have to confront in my heart.

  2. Holly Michael says :

    Absolutely wonderful post. Love it. Funny and so rue about what we set our minds on and what truly makes us happy. Thanks for this post today. I sure enjoyed it.

  3. Ian says :

    Susie, wonderful word. We could all do with knowing more truth & acting upon it. It’s so easy for us to be deceived. I hope we get to read more on some of your reflections on truth during the course of 2014.

  4. Jeanie Berg says :

    Your high school dreams sound very much like some of my high school dreams…..if only I could have pretty clothes and hair, a personality, a figure, a _________…….you fill in the blank! Why is it so hard for us to accept ourselves as we are? God made us that way, and He must have a reason. He loves us, our parents love us, and more people than we realize love us, BUT….!!?? We need to find our identity in Christ and know how very special we are…each of us in our own way!

    • Susan Mires says :

      Yes, that sounds like me, Jeanie. It’s funny how what seemed like hardships at the time, I am now grateful for how they shaped me into the person I am.

  5. Tammy says :

    Great post Susie. It reminds me of the quote by Shakespeare “To thine own self be true.”

  6. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Great post, Susie! The truth is so freeing, isn’t it?

  7. Donna Geesey says :

    I love this post Susie. I’m again a ten days behind because I’m linking from Twitter. This is so true. If I could just learn to filter my emotions based on what God says about me rather than comparing myself to everyone I see around me. Thank you so much for this awesome reminder to consider what is actually true!

