Not Quite Ready for Spring Cleaning

We made our schedule of topics back in November. Who knew that this week would still feel like winter for many of us? I don’t know about you, but I can really get into spring cleaning when the mood hits. However, when there is still snow on the ground and more falling from the sky today, I can’t seem to get motivated.

When the wind warms up and carries that promise of renewal, I just love being outdoors and start with cleaning up the gardens. However, that warm wind hasn’t really come yet in my part of Ontario. Most of the snow has melted but today we are getting one last blast of that white stuff! At least I’m hoping it’s the last.

This year we’ve had a record snowfall with record low temperatures here in Southern Ontario. The pile of snow along both sides of my driveway were close to 4 feet high (yes, my Northern Canadians…I know you put up with a lot worse!). Sometimes the snow was very wet and then would freeze, creating piles of ice.

I wasn’t the only one not impressed with the severity of this winter, neither were my ceadar shrubs…

 

My poor cedar shrubs could take this winter either!

My poor cedar shrubs couldn’t take this winter either!

 

These shrubs line my driveway and ended up breaking under the tremendous weight of the ice and snow. They are 18 years old and have survived each winter without a problem…until now.

What do you think? Are they goners?

If I have to replace them, what would you suggest?

Cherie Gagnon– Cherie

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Not Quite Ready for Spring Cleaning”

  1. Jeanie Berg says :

    Guess nobody else is ready to think about spring cleaning yet either!

  2. Susan Mires says :

    Hi Cherie – I bet your cedar bushes survive because those things are hard to kill. On the other hand, it might be a good time to try something new. If it’s on the side of the driveway, I would advice against putting in rose bushes. Personal experience here…

