Those desires of your heart

Delight yourself also in the Lord,

and He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:4

This is such a well-known verse, isn’t it? It’s one we like to claim and cling to. So many times in my life this verse has come to mind and quite honestly, there’s been disappointment that follows. How many times have I asked, really prayed, for something I wanted and I didn’t get my request? Of course it’s easy to say that standard, “God knows what I really need and what’s best.” But it’s so hard to not be disappointed.

Since starting on my writing journey I’ve realized over and over that God has given me the desires of my heart, they just usually aren’t the voiced desires–the ones I’ve directly asked for. Rather, they have been the desires that are deep within me, those desires I’d never consider voicing or praying about.

This past weekend I was once again reminded of this. There are a few authors I have read since their first books came out. I’ve pretty much read every one of their books and anticipate the next with great impatience! I’d have been happy with getting their latest novel, but God had something so much better in store. Instead of just letting me get their books, He has given me the chance to meet these authors–not just meet them, but call them friends. Six years ago when I told God I’d start down this writing path, I never imagined I’d be blessed by knowing these wonderful, writing ladies as friends.

I wouldn’t have directly asked God for their friendship and mentoring, but I completely believe He knew that in the deepest part of me, I’d be extremely blessed by knowing them and calling them friend.

Maybe I haven’t explained this very well, but this week I’ve been in awe as I’ve considered that God has known the desires of my heart, more than I have known them. He alone has known the desires. He’s seen the deepest part of me and has blessed me beyond anything I could ask for. How amazing to serve the God who knows us so intimately!

Getting to spend time with the author of my favorite book ever, Kristen Heitzmann.

Getting to spend time with the author of my favorite book ever, Kristen Heitzmann.

4 responses to “Those desires of your heart”

  1. Susan Mires says :

    I was just thinking of this verse last night. I am so glad you got to hang out with Kristen. She is a great author and a classy lady.

  2. Ian says :

    What a treat, Sara for you to hang out with Kristen but also it’s a treat for her to do likewise with you.

    I particularly love that verse and for a few years I kept reflecting on the 2nd line and then it hit me one day that I wasn’t delighting enough in Him. So I’m trying to focus on doing that and yes, He keeps surprising me with things which I didn’t realise were my desires. A bit like you’ve said in your post.

    • Sara Meisinger says :

      It is so good to hear from you, Ian! I hope you’re doing well. Don’t you also think when we delight in Him, we are much more aware of what He is giving us? Are you thinking you might make it to ACFW this fall?

