Back at the BSU and looking forward

The BSU house at Northwest Missouri State in Maryville, Mo.

Baptist Student Union – BSU – had a tremendous impact on my college experience. The friends made there, the truths discovered and the fun times shared continue to affect my life.

Last week, the BSU at Northwest Missouri State University invited the alumni to attend the annual senior night. Campus minister Jason Yarnell and his wife Karen were in BSU when I was in college, so I was delighted to visit and show support for their ministry as well as to encourage the graduates.

It was so much fun to hang out with my old college roommate and other friends from college. Seeing Jason and Karen minister so sincerely was inspiring. I was especially touched to see some young adults who I had known as very small children now active in a college ministry.

Graduating seniors shared their testimonies. One young man is Northwest’s first graduate with a degree in nanoscience. A young woman will enter the mission field. Another graduate testified he is led to serve through his work at an amusement park. A woman with a degree in agriculture will be working on the family farm. Others will be teachers and business workers and a few are still on the job search.

How well I remember those scary moments at the end of college where the future seemed like a big open-ended question mark. I am encouraged to see these BSU alumni heading out to diverse fields to carry the light of God’s truth through their careers.

Susie-3994-EditPS 72

I am looking forward to hearing the testimonies they have to share 20 years from now.

~Susan

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

8 responses to “Back at the BSU and looking forward”

  1. pagesfromstages says :

    How wonderful that you got to go back and enjoy the memories AND the friends! Last week I had to ‘go back’ to the area I’d grown up in for a funeral. I came home thoughtful and blessed by the people I’d talked to there who I hadn’t seen in 25-35 years. It left me very melancholy as I realized how much those people meant to me and me to them. Time goes on, but once your life is touched by someone I don’t think you ever forget them. THANK YOU for sharing.

  2. pagesfromstages says :

    It looks like a beautiful place, too, Susie. I’m glad you were able to go back, and that the experience was a blessing,

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Those college years seem like a long commitment at the start, but then pass in a blink of any eye. I hate to think of how many years have passed since I have graduated. Good memories from that stage in life.

    • Susan Mires says :

      So true! I think the college years are so important in shaping the rest of your life. I was glad these kids got it figured out.

