Tiptoeing through the Tulips–no wait they are Daffodils!

daffodil picking

 

The Oddest Job I ever had was picking daffodils. We had friends who had daffodils. Fields of daffodils .Each spring my sisters and I would have afterschool jobs picking, sorting, and preparing them for sale. We would start in the field where we would pick them one by one, then to the sorting shed where the work of putting them into groups of ten, rubber banded and ready to go to market. We wore a finger cot to protect our fingers from the repeated rub of the rubber bands. I remember thinking they were totally uncool! I soon learned they were necessary—my first experience with “the tools of the trade”. If it had lasted too long, I think we would have wearied of the job, but the few week duration of the season made it a perfect boost to out income for future shopping sprees!  Blessings!   Kathy

 

 

3 responses to “Tiptoeing through the Tulips–no wait they are Daffodils!”

  1. Susan Mires says :

    Kathy, this is the coolest odd job! I love daffodils and I can see how this job would be fun, for a week or two.

  2. julane Hiebert says :

    I remember those fields of daffodils!! But I didn’t remember you picked them. Cool!!

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    That sounds like a fun job!

