Aspiring Novelist In the Works

bookYou know it was a great book when you are sorry it’s over. When you have to convince yourself that the characters are only fictional and you really can’t go with them for a coffee date. When you look online to see if there is a sequel or a movie version…anything to keep you attached to the characters just a little longer.

Or maybe, you think you wish you could write something that good to give readers that same experience you just had.

I might not have been able to articulate that sentiment so well when I was a little girl, but I believe that is what I felt after reading Anne of Green Gables. I remember visiting the house on Prince Edward Island where Lucy Maud Montgomery penned the classic novel and thinking how wonderful it would be to become an author.

Over the years I’ve enjoyed many other authors who’ve taken me to foreign countries, cross the Atlantic on ships, been to court with dukes and duchesses, and coffee shops in the Mid-West America. I’ve fought fires, worked in World War I factories, created beautiful cloth on the looms in New England, solved crimes, danced in resplendent ballrooms, and delivered babies.

Perhaps one day I’ll be able to take you on a journey created in my imagination. But for now, I’ll keep writing, learning and pitching projects at conferences. Most of all, I’ll keep reading.

Have you written a novel? Is writing a novel on your bucket list?

– Cherie

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Aspiring Novelist In the Works”

  1. Sara Meisinger says :

    When someone says they don’t like to read it always shocks me. Don’t they realize the lives their missing out on? I love the feeling that comes with getting lost in a great story. Wonderful post, dear friend!!

  2. mom2spiritedboys says :

    I’ve thought about it and people tell me I should but I find the idea daunting and I’m probably too insecure to try. I admire you for putting yourself out there.

  3. Julane Hiebert says :

    A friend once told me that psychotics build dream castles, and neurotics live in them. I am quite sure one must possess a bit of both characteristics to be a writer…but isn’t is fun? If a child had the choice of being schooled in only ONE subject, I would hope it would be reading. Love this post, Cherie

  4. Susan Mires says :

    Cherie, I can just see you as a little girl reading these books and dreaming big! Last summer I visited Laura Ingalls Wilder’s home where she wrote the Little Hous books. I had much the same feeling.

