Art Camp 2014

Other than the week we go on vacation, my favorite part of summer is the week we spend doing Art in the Barn. This was the second year for my dear friend, Beth, and me to put this together. One perfect barn, thirty students, three helpers, four days, nine projects, one art show. We had a wonderful group of students who worked hard and created some great works of art.

Mary, our host of the week, always has cute signs around.

Mary, our host of the week, always has cute signs around.

We couldn't do art camp without these helpers! Tiana, Grace, and Annie do a great job wherever we need them.

We couldn’t do art camp without these helpers! Tiana, Grace, and Annie do a great job wherever we need them.

Who wouldn't love splattering paint in the manner of Jackson Pollock? The students loved this project!

Who wouldn’t love splattering paint in the manner of Jackson Pollock? The students loved this project!

Someday, I'd love to see some of Dale Chihuly's glass sculptures. For now, I'll be happy with these made from melted plastic.

Someday, I’d love to see some of Dale Chihuly’s glass sculptures. For now, I’ll be happy with these made from melted plastic.

IMG_0028

My favorite project of the week! Clay tiles in the style of Georgia O'Keefe. These were BEAUTIFUL!

My favorite project of the week! Clay tiles in the style of Georgia O’Keefe. These were BEAUTIFUL!

Amazed? Me too!

Amazed? Me too!

This one is Isaac's! He isn't a huge fan of every project, but he liked this one.

This one is Isaac’s! He isn’t a huge fan of every project, but he liked this one.

It never fails when I’m teaching that sometime within the first twenty minutes of teaching a new project, I get a huge feeling of defeat. I start questioning the level of the project and my own teaching abilities. And then, suddenly students start finishing and I am simply amazed!

Already we’re thinking of ideas for next summer. It’s a busy week but so worth it when we see the pride the kids take in their masterpiece!

Thanks for letting me share!

Sara

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Art Camp 2014”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Very lovely, Sara! I bet you could get 30 adults to sign up for camp if you ever did a week for grown ups. I know I’d sign up 🙂

  2. Marilyn Bartel says :

    I am very impressed with the creativity of both you and the kids! If you ever offer a class for adults, I will be the first to sign up . A whole week of being creative sounds like unbelievable fun!!

    • sara meisinger says :

      Out of everyone saying they’d come to an art camp for adults, you’re the only one who lives in the state!! I’ll let you know if we ever do something like that. We’ve considered it. Enjoy your last few weeks of summer break!

  3. Susan Mires says :

    Is there an age limit on who can come to camp? 🙂

