Mystery Quilt

Cleaning out a closet a few months ago unearthed a mystery. A beautiful one.

I have no idea where this quilt top came from.

I’m not one to forget handmade heirlooms, but this is a mystery I can’t solve. It is made from gorgeous Depression Era fabrics in a Dresden Plate pattern. The plates are appliqued by hand to the squares, then the squares are sewn together by machine. It is a small size, just two blocks wide and five blocks long. Did the mystery quilter plan to make it bigger but something happened?

I suspect this little quilt came to me via my Dad who would have bought it at a farm auction, likely mixed in with some worthless junk.

I’m thinking about finishing this piece with an old pink cotton sheet as the backing so this long-neglected quilt can be complete.

What do you think – should this be quilted or left as is?

~ Susan

Tags: , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

3 responses to “Mystery Quilt”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I think you should finish it. I think that is what the person who started intended. Then write a fabulous story about it!

  2. julane hiebert says :

    I’m not sure, Susie. I don’t think I’d risk quilting it unless the quilter really knows the fabric. Some of the older fabrics are not as strong and may not take the stretching onto a quilting frame, plus the pulling of the stitches. I agree with Cherie, though!! There’s a story there!!

  3. Susan Mires says :

    I think I’d like to finish it. But given the speed on move on sewing projects, this quilt top is probably safe for a few more years 🙂

