Sweet Potato and Pear Soup

This past weekend we celebrated Thanksgiving here in Canada. The weather where I live was sunny and warm, making a gorgeous backdrop to the golds, oranges and reds in the trees. Today is a little more typical for fall…overcast and windy.

Over the last several weeks, my husband and I have been working on new landscape in front of our home. It’s mostly done but we will add the finishing touches in the spring.

The two new additions we are most excited about are the new Pin Oak tree and the Burning Bushes. Buying them at this time of the year allowed us to see how pretty they will turn every autumn. Too bad I didn’t think of taking pictures when the sun was out this weekend when the red really popped…but this should give you an idea.

image

With this change of season, I thought I’d share one of my favourite fall soup recipes. I made this up one night with what I could find in the house and we enjoyed it. Hope you will, too.

 

Sweet Potato & Pear Soup

  • 1 leek chopped
  • 1 Tbsp of fresh ginger chopped
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • 3 Bosc pears, peeled and cubed
  • 3 ½ Cups vegetable stock
  • ½ tsp of cinnamon
  • ¼ Cup of cream
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Sauté chopped leek and ginger in melted butter until soft. Add sweet potato and sauté for 3 minutes. Add vegetable stock. Bring to boil for 10 minutes. Add Pears. Continue to boil for 10 more minutes. Stir in cinnamon. Add salt and pepper to taste. Remove from heat and puree soup (either in blender or with wand). Add cream and serve!

Enjoy!

Cherie Gagnon– Cherie

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Sweet Potato and Pear Soup”

  1. Susan Mires says :

    I love sweet potatoes and pears, so I might give this a try. One question – do you chunk the sweet potatoes before you saute them, or how are they cut? Thanks!

    • pagesfromstages says :

      Susie- I see I left that part out! Yes, the potatoes are cubed. By the way, the ginger gives it a little kick. If you don’t like hot, then you could skip the ginger. It’s a small amount and I like the warmth it gives the soup.

  2. Ian says :

    Potato & pear – wow. Never thought of such a combination. I love potato & leak. Might have to try it one day.

    Love the colours in the garden. Will you lose the colour shortly coming into winter?

  3. Cherie Gagnon says :

    I loosely based this recipe on a cauliflower, leek and apple soup recipe I got from a TV chef. And that was a surprisingly tasty combination.

    Yes, the leaves will drop by the end of the month or the beginning of November
    😦

  4. sara meisinger says :

    Love the landscaping picture! I bet it will look great in a couple of years!! The soup sounds good so I’ll have to try it.

