Malicious Mischief – Katy Railroad Mystery Book Review

Malicious Mischief is truly a delightful book. Set in Missouri on the Katy Railroad, it felt like taking a trip back in time. I could feel the rumble of the tracks, hear the train whistle and smell the smoke.

Author Lora Young is a member of the Kansas City West chapter of the American Christian Fiction Writers. I have shared many delightful hours with Lora as we carpool to writers meetings. Since she let me read an early manuscript over a year ago, I have loved this story and am so glad she has published it. Isn’t the cover gorgeous?

The heroine of Malicious Mischief is Delia Eastman, who is caught between pursuing her own dreams and defending her father.

Rivalry between the steamships and the railroads turn their sleepy Missouri River town into powder keg. Increasingly violent vandalism on the railroad brings Delia face-to-face with Endy Webster, a handsome trainmaster whose investigation into the crimes leads him to the door of a prominent steamship owner—Delia’s father.
As Delia tries to clear her father’s name, she keeps tangling with Endy. Though he is intelligent and charming, she suspects Endy knows more than he’s telling. Delia reluctantly agrees to partner with him to solve the mystery.

The railroad rivalry provided a fascinating mystery. The romance, however, was what stole my heart. Their banter and the quirky twists of the cozy mystery made this very, very fun. I truly enjoyed this historical novel filled with interesting characters, detailed mystery and superb writing.

It’s available in paperback and Kindle. Click here to purchase Malicious Mischief on Amazon.

One of greatest joys of being a writer is making friends, like Lora and the other writers here at the Pages From Stages blog, as well as our dedicated readers. The other great thing is getting to read their works. Even though our blog here will be taking a bend in rail, I am excited to see what new writing will lie ahead.

Happy reading and God bless you,
~ Susan Mires

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Susan Mires

Susan Mires is a writer in St. Joseph, MO.

5 responses to “Malicious Mischief – Katy Railroad Mystery Book Review”

  1. Deborah S Vogts says :

    Congratulations, Lora! I’m very happy for you! Enjoy the moments . . . .

  2. Cherie Gagnon says :

    Excellent review! And, congratulations Lora! I hope to add this to my collection soon.

  3. julane hiebert says :

    Congratulations, Lora. I’m so happy for you. I downloaded it onto my Kindle, and can’t wait to read it!! Blessings for your future books. I’m sure they will be more.

  4. sara meisinger says :

    Great review, Susie! I have it downloaded and ready to read! Congratulations, Lora. I’m so excited you have taken this step!!

