Thank you

It took me over a year and a half of writing before I told anyone what I was doing. As I wrote the story that had been playing in my head for months, I did a little research to see what it would take to become published. IMPOSSIBLE. That’s what I realized. The writing world was too big, too far out there, way out of my comfort zone, and required social media. IMPOSSIBLE.  I knew no one else who wrote.

Then one day, after months of a growing conviction, I finally gave it all to God. My desire to write and mostly my fear. I remember telling Him that I would follow but He’d have to move my feet, one step at a time. It was a huge moment in my life.

And then an amazing thing happened. I found out Julane was writing. She’d been in my life since her son and I were good friends in jr. high! There was no one else I’d rather go on the writing journey with.

I took another huge step and joined an online critique group. The first story I critiqued was Cherie’s and as we emailed back and forth, we found an amazing friendship.

Through Julane, I started going to a writer’s group in a small town in the corner of Kansas. Her cousin lived there so we stayed with Kathy. That was the beginning of many over night trips, lots of laughs, good food, and time to share stories. Another dear friend.

After the first year I was ready to go to the national writing convention and Susie rode with us. I would never have guessed that such a sweet friendship would grow from that trip.

Social media was the last huge hang-up of mine but with these ladies it’s been pretty painless. I’ve enjoyed this blog more than I ever thought possible.

Somewhere along the way, I lost my shyness about telling others I write. I think the reason is because so many of you have read this blog and have been amazing. You’ve commented on blogs, offered kind words of encouragement, and shown so much interest in my writing journey.

I’ve known this whole time that I’m following the path God has for me. How do I know? Because I’ve gotten to walk beside each of you and that has made this journey beyond what I ever imagined.

I am so blessed. You are a blessing and I thank you. Thank you for taking the time read our blog, the comments you’ve made, and the encouragement you’ve shown. Without you, it would be a lonely journey.

After over two years of blogging, we are all ready for some time off. Life is busy and at times our stories don’t get the attention they need. I’ll miss this blog, but I’m also excited to see what’s next.

THANK YOU for coming along with us these past two years!

Sara

4 responses to “Thank you”

  1. Cherie Gagnon says :

    It is neat how we found each other. From Kansas, to Missouri to Ontario!

  2. julane hiebert says :

    I don’t think I’d ever realized this progression, Sara!! Isn’t it neat how God brought us all together…and he won’t leave us stranded alone.

  3. Susan Mires says :

    Sara, thank you! Even though you may have started reluctantly, I always enjoyed your posts. Julane – excellent thought!

  4. Jeanie Berg says :

    When I first started reading “Julane’s Blog” I never realized that there was someone else on there that I “knew”!! Sara, you and my son Kevin and Julane’s son Rob were all three in that same class at Berean. Instant connection! I knew that you had married a farmer and that you had corn mazes on your property!! That was about as much information I had about you since those school days! So glad to learn to know more about you and I can’t wait to be able to read something you’ve written! Hope we can keep in touch! Also so glad to hear that you are once again a part of that school and sharing your knowledge with young people.

